top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

A Couple Of Poems

Though it has been awhile since I have been published in a 'zine or magazine, here are a couple of published ones that I have not put out in books:


No More Forever


Like a warrior home from his last battle, I piled dented shield and dulled sword in an old dusty and locked room, where only memories and loneliness rattle. “I will fight no more, forever,” upon my lips. I piled dented shield and dulled sword; to love no more was once my master plan. Scars upon my heart would heal in time. There were no more dragons to slay, no more maidens to steal across the land. in an old dusty and locked room, “I will love no more, forever,” upon my lips. I lay alone in the dark shadow of a lover’s moon destined to remain a lonely, unbeaten warrior . Oft offered heart slowly hardened, calcified. Where only memories and loneliness rattle; “Maybe it will stop beating, and none too soon. I will know pain no more, forever,” upon my lips. One day into my life a young beauty wandered, peering, through the long unused keyhole. “I will fight no more, forever,” upon my lips, that lead into my carefully secured soul. Slowly, as awakened from a dream, I pondered, “I wonder if this is the end of forever,” upon my lips. I lifted door bars and disengaged rusted latches. I piled dented shield and dulled sword, slowly, carefully widening the oak-hewn door that had been my heart’s savior and salvation. Could this be one of Cupid’s unexpected matches; “I will love you forever,” upon our lips.


Gone To North Dakota


He’s gone to North Dakota, Wiped the dust off his feet, headed out west To the cold badlands he remembers From his boyhood. He’s gone to North Dakota, His heart is following his feet, Shadow lengthening to the west, Soul shaped by the badlands, Embers he remembers, Dreams of boyhood.


Lou Marin was born and raised in the western hills of Maine, then spent 20 plus years wandering the country and world in the United States Air Force. He is a photographer, published poet and short story writer who now also pens faith based devotionals. He lives in Rumford, Maine. His five poetry anthologies, published by Publish America and entitled, Awash With Words, Old Waves, New Beaches, Whisper of Waves, and Sea To Shining Sea, Version 1 and 2, are available in print and online.


Jean Lafitte

Don’t call me “pirate.” I sail with 1000 men.

Your movie actors in Hollywood; megawatt smiles, betray their countrymen, move to France, because they don’t agree with war. I sail with 1000 men.

How can you be a pirate and not warrior. According to my code, “Coward” means death. I sail with 1000 men.

They call me Jean Lafitte. I am the best man on the Gulf Coast. I am The Buccaneer, The Hero of New Orleans. I sail with 1000 men.

While you read a script, pretend to sail, and steal, I am condemned and exonerated by your president. I sail with 1000 men.

I am loved by all, hated by those who fear me.

I sailed the Gulf of Mexico, in a leaking ship, and defeated the British in The Battle of New Orleans. I sail with 1000 men.

Don’t call me “pirate.” I am a privateer. I sail with 1000 men.

I invented economy in a new America that had naught. For thanks, I was branded “traitor” and reviled, though I saved you from your hated Motherland. I sail with 1000 men.

Now I am driven from your corrupted American shores, betrayed by a country that doesn’t know the difference between savior and satan. I spit on you. I sail with 1000 men.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page