top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

A Favorite New Poem

In 2004 we strode,

Hand-in-hand

Down the Midway,

Between adventures.

I carried stuffed animals

Under one arm.

I had a few

Sweat dampened dollars

In my shorts pockets.

"What do you want to do now daddy?"

"I don't know, what do you want to do?"

"Anything will be fun

If it's with you."

Between guys selling

Cheap reproduction concert shirts

And bright painted straw hats

Was a booth with

Tacked up caricatures

Of men with big noses

And gap-toothed children

Smiling at the world strolling by.

"Daddy can we get our pictures done."

"Oh, yeah, not too much fun."

"Please, Please. It's only 15 dollars."

"I guess it can't hurt."

Quick deft pencil strokes

Made a mockery of my hair,

But gave my daughter and I

Beautiful matching smiles.

We were drawn together

By the excitement

Of being drawn together.

----------------

In 2020 we strode,

Down another Midway,

Not feeling adventurous

On a rainy Wisconsin morning.

I carried a hot cup of coffee

And cold french fries,

That had cost too many

Of the damp dollars

In my worn out wallet.

"What do you want to do now Emily?”

"I don't know, what do you want to do?"

"I was hoping this would be

More fun for you!”

Between people giving away

Cannabis healing information

And a bible tract dispensary,

Was a booth with

Tacked up caricatures

Of men with big noses

And gap-toothed children

Smiling at the world strolling by.

"Emily, we could get our pictures done."

"That doesn’t seem like too much fun."

"But I have the 25 dollars."

"I guess it can't hurt."

Quick deft pencil strokes

Made a mockery of my hair,

But gave my daughter and I

Beautiful matching smiles.

We were again drawn together

By the fun

Of being drawn together.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page