top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

A Few From Bountiful Harvest

Bountiful Harvest


They say trees grow

and the apples ripen well

when the breezes blow

and sunshine indwells.

The fruit of the spirit swells

with love, joy, and peace.

Where the Lord dwells

harvests will increase.

We reap fields we sow

when God’s love we know.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

-Galatians 5:22-23 (KJV)


Born With Music In Me


They say when I was born God was having a sad day;

He put music in my soul, and smiled as there I lay.

I sing along as I work and toil, looking to Him.

No matter the burden I carry, songs chase sadness away.

The faithful Christians say The Lord makes no mistakes.

even though my voice misses octaves, and cracks and breaks.

On a bad day the words and rhymes still come to me.

I sing, even when the lyrics are about sadness; heartbreaks.

Somewhere deep within a song waits to be brought to life,

while the news and world without shows battle and strife.

"All we are saying is give peace a chance," comes out,

and my sadness is cleaved away like a butcher's knife.

I feel the words of a song deep within my heart,

I sing out loud at home, work, or at the grocery mart,

pushing vegetables to the rhythm of a squeaky wheeled cart.

I am glad that The Lord gave me a musical start.

“Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands. Serve the Lord with gladness: come before His presence with singing.”

-Psalm 100:1-2 (KJV)


Blood on my Hands


Costumed children dance and cavort.

They line up costumed, tall and short,

ghosts, pirates, super heroes too,

shrieking 'trick or treat,' and 'boo!'

On this ghoulish night they go forth,

canvassing streets south to north,

ringing bells and seeking candy

or whatever goodies you have handy.

It seems on this night we dwell in dark,

rather in seriousness or a playful lark.

The costume sellers make gross profits,

while we dress in cloaks of evil that fits.

Hallow's Eve descends across the lands

and once again I find blood on my hands,

for I chose to celebrate this debauchery

instead of remembering He who made me.

One more child dressed as the devil.

I recall Celts around a bonfire did revel

on this night hundreds of years ago.

We pay homage to hell down below

instead of the Lord, God upon high,

when 'trick or treat,' we do loudly cry.

Remember as Hallowe'en replaces day,

do not invite evil in or push God’s glory away!

“Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils;”

-1 Timothy 1:4 (KJV)


Behind the Smile


Behind the smile painted on bright,

cries the clown lonely in the night.

Behind the eyes flashing and winking

lives the lonely muse thinking.

Behind the cross He was left to bear

stands Jesus in heaven, waiting for you there.

Not all is as it seems in life,

but praying to Him will ease your strife.

This world will not always be easy for you,

but believe in Him and your soul will be new.

No hiding behind fake painted smile or flashing eyes,

just eternal salvation vast and pure as summer skies.

“Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?”

-Jeremiah 32:27 (KJV)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page