top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

A Few Poems On A Soggy Sunday


What Are Secrets For What are secrets for When whispered outside my door And snatched by The ever searching, Intruding wind That blows them Into everyone’s ear, Not just the lover I wish would be mine, Would lean into My powerful embrace And ask me What secrets are for. Dordogne On the banks of the Dordogne we walked hand and hand in a warm summer breeze, alone upon the beautiful land. High above the river we paused, peering down at the fast current, seeing the ebb and flow of life, in swirling patterns, recurrent. As pure as the light of dawn, and steady as a shifting sand, we were as leaves on trees, mere specks in a tableau grand. My lovely diamond with no flaws, accepted the firm hand I lent as we walked from the rift. Away from Dordogne we went.


















Duct Tape And Origami


Thin tissue paper cleverly shaped.

The box showed a pink crane,

wading in a sky-blue paper pool

surrounded by grass and flowers.

"Anyone can do it, even a fool."


Thin tissue paper cleverly shaped,

looked like an easy project to create.

I folded and twisted, ripped and rent,

The result looked like a used tissue.

not a delicate bird, carefully bent.


Thin tissue paper cleverly shaped.

I was not going to be stymied

by a child's (Age 4 to Adult) project.

I got a fresh sheet and tried again.

Once more paper torn and wrecked.


Thin tissue paper cleverly shaped.

I finally made an everlasting bird,

not perfect but indeed cleverly caped.

A swath of beautiful gray magic,

the origami crane I duct taped!















Falling For You

"It's not what you think!" I told anyone who dared link my looks and questions with actual feelings for you. "It's what curious people do." I balked at their suggestions. Still looking with vacant expressions when you slowly walked by, I couldn't forget though I would try the time you smiled at me. Sometimes I wondered what to do. Could I be falling for you? Should I take a chance or flee? I dream of confession on bended knee, but that doesn't mean I am infatuated. I am sure my heart isn't being led, but I do think about what could be.


Farewell Hemingway I am writing and beer drinking, contemplating sitting in the sun and fishing for Blue Marlin. King Spearfish dance on the line that plays out in my mind. Contemplating sitting in the sun when my writing is done, just like Papa Hemingway did. Barefoot and ragged I sip something cold and crispy. And fishing for Blue Marlin doesn't fill my stomach anymore than writing does, but there is a certain glory in the battle and tales. King Spearfish dance on the line carefully crafted and concocted from my pen and the bottle that we both use as muse. Farewell Papa, write on. That plays out in my mind, "Farewell Papa, write on." All in one run on sentence, you lived and loved and cried, laughed and then left us wanting.



Feeling Sorry For Myself That turned down face came to the mirror today to meet my morning. I wish you were here, an overwhelming thought; sadness filling this place. I feel sorry for myself, it is altogether too true, as I sit crippled, alone. They tell me to smile but I think I will not until my mouth is ready. Separation comes too soon, and the distance is vast when you are again away. My mirror clearly shows the world of my choice; smiles and tears strewn.


Flancloneter "Flancloneter," he said again. "Flancloneter," from a drunken stumbling tongue. "Flancloneter?" I wonder if he asked, "how many francs for a litre?" "Five...uh cinq...oui cinq franc...ummm...pour litre..." Man, French is not my language. "Merde!" I was in Quebec City at an out of the way bar and bottle shop helping a friend on a busy Saturday night. I came by the illusion of being a francophone honestly enough. Two generations ago my dad's people spoke no English when they ranged this province. Before that they lived in the French countryside. Hearing someone speak French and being able to master the language in a loud drunken bar, as you may or may not know are two very different things. I took a shot of Whisky, "What can I get you Mack?" "Ce qui?" "Bière? Whiskey?" It was going to be a long night. "Damnedignorantyank." "Damnedignorantyank!" from a drunk stumbling tongue. "Damnedignorantyank?" I knew what that meant for sure. "Kiss my ass frenchy." I said slow and deliberate. "léchez mon cul!" I ducked to avoid a thrown bottle then jumped the bar.

































Gettin’ Old Is Not For Sissies


They say old age is like a bad dessert at the end of a particularly fine meal. I don't know much about simile, but it seems to me I am about out of fine meals. I think it has been since about 1994 or 95 that I could taste much anyway. Anything good and tasty has been replaced by something softer and less chewy. When they said no fat and low fiber was the way to go, I kissed taste goodbye. Kissed taste goodbye with lips stretched over fake teeth that I take out at dinner time. Gettin' old ain't for sissies it's true, but at mealtime, I forgot whatever else I had to do!










Great Big Memory


Great Big Sea

sings on my computer.

A tune about Boston and St. John's

rolling out of the speakers.

Makes me remember walking with you.


"If we go to the lighthouse

on Lookout Hill,

we may be able to see

whales or icebergs."


It was 1996.

I had taken a month's leave

to visit.


A long slow walk

turned into an angry rant

and heated argument.

Slammed car doors,

and a long walk

through a cold St. John's rain.


Great Big Sea

sings on my computer.

A tune about Boston and St. John's

rolling out of the speakers.

Makes me remember

walking away from you.










Halifax, North Dakota


I love the sea

and the sea loves me,

But you can't take a boat to North Dakota.


I'm stuck in an airport

in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

It started with predawn takeoff

through the fog in St. John's.

There’s not enough visibility to continue on.


I love the sea

and the sea loves me,

but you can't take a boat to North Dakota.


I spent six hours

in an airport terminal.

You can have your beer at 8am,

I'd rather have whiskey in my coffee.

"It’s down that way

past the ladies room."


I love the sea

and the sea loves me

but you can't take a boat to North Dakota.


Visibility slowly increases at noon,

fog slowly slips back toward St John's.

Last boarding call, it’s time to move on.

I'm asleep at a bar in Terminal B.

My plane taxis away from Concourse C.


I dream of being at sea

as my flight leaves without me.

It's a hell of a walk back to North Dakota.




If I Were The Rock of Gibraltar


Tariq's Mountain in Gibraltar's Sea

I had read about it in history books.

Dusty old volumes told of war,

defense and the stronghold.

Spain and England played

a mental chess match for control.


From 5000 miles away

the Rock of Gibraltar

beckoned me.

A visit involved six stops

in four countries.

I was gently frisked and probed,

photographed, passport stamped

and showed two forms of ID.


My broken Spanish

secured me a seat

on a helicopter

and a bicycle tour

across bustling Gibraltar,

warmed by the

Mediterranean.


I beheld the quarter mile high

limestone Rock.

Anticlimax and letdown.

It just wasn't all that

impressive to me.

Bigger stones than

the Rock of Gibraltar

I had climbed

in the South Dakota Badlands.





A walking tour

started at a quarter past

three.

“Walk only on the

marked government trails,

obey all signs,

don't feed the apes,

and stay in sight of me.”


Up a steep rough slope,

with no pretty girls

to chat with.

Just a Spanish tour guide,

two senior citizens,

and a National Geographic Photographer

from Manhattan.


I lagged a bit behind,

with no more hope of discovering

the magic of Gibraltar

than I had at sea level.


I took a quick stop in the bushes,

to answer a call to nature.

Shuck my pack,

take off

my sweaty hat.

Yawn and stretch.


I was eye to eye

with an adult Barbary Ape,

who was more interested in the

ham sandwich and trail mix

in my bag than me.

I shrieked with surprise, and

he slowly ambled off down the trail,

as I ran to catch up with

my tour group.


Later the guide told me

of local superstition

and how if ever the apes left,

so would the British.

They are both kept

and fed and coddled,

like the ravens

in the Tower of London.


I shuddered and thought,

on the way back

to the waiting helicopter.

I wouldn't want

crazy monkeys

running wild over me,

if I were the Rock of Gibraltar.

Immortality Is A Beach Sitting on the shore gazing at deep blue seas holds no attraction for me anymore. We were all supposed to live forever. That was the promise. That is all I ask for. I sit motionless watching the tides, ignoring the sounds of life. We were all supposed to live forever. That was the promise. That is all I ask for. How terrible to me that you should die in the ageless, continual sea. No body twisted and mangled found, no witness to your final exhale giving way to motionless floating. Drenched by waves and spray drenched by tears I wait upon the beach. Trembling with sadness, cold in the Pacific sun, I awaken and look around. My breath screams in my chest, the noises a drowning man makes reminds me of losing you. We were all supposed to live forever. That was the promise. That is all I ask for.



































Internet


With a quick click of a key

down wires and thru lines

information comes to me.

Knowledge's lamp shines.


I post writing on the 'net,

pay bills, do my banking,

and ask questions of a vet.

Computers keep thinking.


In my old computer chair,

I can peek around the world

like I was standing there,

instant information hurled.


The internet is a marvel true,

for it connected me to you.


Journey ON Make a list of all the things I need. Pack it all the night before, check. Clothing. Yup. Toiletries. Uh huh. Snacks for driving. Yes. Yes, and yes. We aren't going to have a repeat of last year. Pack it all the night before, check. "A-chooo" dusty old brown suitcase, worn green mobility bag with clasp top found under Christmas decorations. "Man, what did I leave in here? phew." Clothing. Yup. Toiletries. Uh huh. Blues uniform, pants, shirt, jacket, hat, shoes stuck into a big garment bag. Razors, shaving cream, toothbrush and all, I left the bag on the couch last year. Snacks for driving. Yes. Yes, and yes. Yes to Doritos. I love their messy goodness. Yes to a bagel or two coated with cream cheese. Yes to a big Thermos of life giving coffee. Yes to bottled water and diet cokes too! We aren't going to have a repeat of last year. Steinbeck mentioned what happens when mice, men and probably plump Airmen plot their course too close. Day two had flat tires, speeding tickets and two hours lost. Add to List: Pray to God for a smoother road this time.


Just Ask The key to being a man was there for the taking, like the lyrics to life scrawled on the metro bus wall that took us down to Baker Street. I just didn't see it. We laughed as we rode past the concrete wall at the entrance to Shea Heights, about Hill Moms and crazy codfish kissing traditions. Every time I heard "How she going buddy, what are y'at," I'd giggle and mumble and grab another shot of burning liquor in an attempt to be a man. My evening ended rather ungracefully and floor-crawling. I never gave you the tenderness you wanted. Nights ending in huge arguments and you dragging me from Sherlock's Bar. The key to being a man was there for the taking, like the ticking meter of the worn taxi taking us home from Baker Street. I just didn't see it.































La Juvena River


Lush jungle-like rain forests Alive with colors bracket her. Journeying toward the oceans; Under way, thick, dirty, brown, Veigned with heartland soil. Endless is the cycle Nurtured in mother's bosom. Anaconda. Serpent. River. Red parrots and green macaws Inhabit trees along the banks, Vibrant flashes on emerald leaves. Eerie are calls in the night, River winds eternally.



Latest News 1326 Local ''We are so happy to be home," say those freed.' "Former President Clinton, American Diplomat!" I smile at the good news in this 24 hour live feed. Bill is resolving international issues? Imagine that! "We need Obama's health plan," most agreed. It all reminds me of a Roosevelt Fireside Chat! I stopped to browse through these news stories, looking at what is left of my world's inventories. "The GOP is organizing town hall mobs," they say. "Add turbulence to the list of dangers when I fly!" "'I love jihad,' says young terror suspect gone astray." "'Use public care to keep our girl alive!' her parents cry." A video clip shows a mom dragging her kid on a rope. "Paula Abdul set to wave American Idol ``Goodbye!" "If you want to reach full potential, use this magic dope." This is just one afternoon snapshot of current news, it seems we have gotten a bit mixed up in our views. "Folks want to know where their food comes from." "Putin bares his chest in some new vacation pics." "Finally free after 34 years; Squeaky Fromme!" "Mid-size cars in low speed crashes are costly to fix." "Costly DNA tests for kids make you a better mom!" "Congressman jailed over money freezing tricks." But a moment in time froze all these headlines. If you want a picture of decline, read these signs.


Le Chat Grippe Quebec City sprawls in the gentle grip of another May fog. Le Chat Grippe has a place set for you. We were visiting the old city on a senior trip. After an afternoon wandering and souvenir shopping, We had reservations for dinner and culture. The only thing I could pronounce on the menu was sole fish. Fillets swam in butter, lemon juice, dill, bread crumbs, and a pound of sea salt. If I never again partake of such a dish, nor see it as an option among French made delicacies, I shall be happy. There was something about grease and fish and lemon topped with dollops of fresh cream that made my stomach crave Burger King, instead of foreign cuisine. "Tu n'aimez pas les poissons parce qu'il ne nage pas." No he didn't swim, as I idly pushed him around in his plate bound pool. It was only the first day of the trip. Already I was bored with guided tours and strange accents. I wandered out of the restaurant, toward Le Château Frontenac, with a half pack of cigarettes, and no plan to rejoin my classmates soon. It was 6 p.m., a dark haired girl leaned on the stone facade of the hotel. I had found some excitement. Quebec City sprawls in the gentle grip of another May fog.















Listen To The Waves


Listen to the waves call, whispering to the sea wall. "May I go a little further? Do you really hope to deter me from my goal of landing where houses are standing with little hope of withstanding my crests mighty and tall. Down where tides occur, breakers are crash landing.


























Magic City


I am wandering my adopted town, I see what has kept me here. It is more than sky and air clear, with no violence or gun shot sounds. Seldom do I see a grimace or frown, most smile when strangers draw near. I am wandering my adopted town, I see what has kept me here. We grow while the economy is down, because corporations drill for oil near. It looks like another banner year with crude and wheat in the ground. I am wandering my adopted town.




Misty Currents Beauty is in subtlety. Jet black morning slowly rolls away. Eastward early rays fail to penetrate early gloom. Low-beamed headlights illuminate painted road lines disappearing mere inches ahead. We low-speed march south to the Interstate. I hunch over steering wheel in the quiet dawn, fearing moving animals wandering onto pavement. True dawn does not come at six, seven, or eight. We reach four-lane concrete; silent, low on traffic. Vanquishing barely thinning fog, the early rays start to reach tired eyes, as gloom slowly, grudgingly parts. Green fields and valleys, Minnesota lakes and farms are revealed; a curtain is opened by magic hand. Gossamer drapes part; beauty riding a misty current.





Monastery of Sainte-Marie


Surrounded by silent green fields

the stone corridors still whisper

with echoes that the walls yield.

"Hallelujah," a soft heavenly purr.


At the Monastery Sainte-Mere

tumbled rocks and thorns abound,

but God certainly is alive there

watching the faithful walk around.


Under errant knights’ shields,

cut down like worthless curs,

faithful blood fell in these fields;

the cowled monks and monsignor.


Upon the teetering stone stair,

a wild rabbit leaps and bounds

in a place broken and in despair.

Once again silence surrounds.



















Morning Sun



Morning sun glints off water drops,

everywhere I look mini rainbows

in tiny clear globes greet my day.


Last night's storm caused dismay,

lightning flashed and winds rose,

as we warily hoped it would stop.


There was a tornado warning,

as black clouds descended,

We checked basement supplies.


Morning brightness was a surprise

when rain and night had ended.

Making my heart and soul sing.






















Musing Upon A Dark Valley


It feels like I already wrote this one,

recapped a pen and called it done.

Now I find it moss crumbling and alone,

slipping from fingers suddenly dead.

My memory captures words you said,

a relationship dry; thousand year old bone.


The soft glow of reason and reality

has become a sullen stranger to me.

Gone are all the rhymes and reasons

that used to pour like honey from lips,

beguiling, charming like poisonous sips,

enjoyed for moments sting for all seasons.


Into the valley that became my lost soul

former love isolated by loss of control.

Trapped and caged here, no birds sing,

to blot out the accusing voices in my head

that ceaselessly repeat words she said,

resounding with a cracking bullwhip sting.


















Nascar Is My Sport (Sometimes Life)

North American Stock Car Auto Racing, As the anagram goes, Sounds so dry and boring. Cars, 43 in number, circle a track. Asphalt, hot reflecting sun, burning tires, Roaring engines energize stands full of people. Yawns. Boring to others. "Red Necks" they call the drivers and fans. Now into the pits screams that Budweiser car. A third generation driver and rock and roll kid Sits at the wheel ready to burn more rubber. Car is jacked, tires changed, fuel added, Adrenaline fueled, his pit crew adjust and fix minor damage. Right twist the jack handle. 13 seconds later the red rocket is away. My first live NASCAR race was in Texas, while I was attending training in Wichita Falls. I bought weekend tickets for $325 from scalpers, because I wanted to watch live what always kept me glued to the TV on Saturdays and Sundays. Normally a three day trip requires packing and hotel plans. A clean pair of underwear, socks, three T-Shirts and khaki shorts Stuffed into a Walmart bag was my luggage. $412 spending cash Carried in my taped up "Terry Labonte 1984 NASCAR Champion" wallet was my fare. Arnold, my travel partner had a Chevette and we flipped a coin. Rear seats sleeping for me! We started the 100 mile trip. We spent $17 combined at Whataburger, adding the wrapped burgers and fries to the beer in our cooler. South we headed, secure in the knowledge we now had everything we needed for a great weekend. North Parking lot 15C turned out to be two miles from the track. Another rainstorm added to the pleasure of our walk. Sodden we trudged across the muddy unpaved expanse Cold beers in hand and in pockets. We smelled cooking meat; A number of tailgate parties had sprung up, Ranging from single burner grills to pigs on spits glistening. We wandered on to the Texas Motor Speedway track complex, hearing the distant growl and scream of engines on the track. "No admittance to the truck race or practice without a ticket!" Arnold said, "but we have tickets for BUSCH and NASCAR." "Sure you do, but that doesn't let you in tonight." "Crap." Well, there goes that idea. What now?" An acre and a half of mud and a mile walk later, Right back where we started, we cracked open beers. Rock music blared from a few nearby campsites as the party continued all night. Beer and cold burgers mixed with a few glimpses of beautiful girls in the nearby campers who may have forgotten the things their momma's taught them about dressing in public made this rainy muddy parking lot seem a little like Woodstock in '69. North Texas morning sun winked off Chevette hood chrome. Aching back and morning after beer breath in a dry mouth, Stretching, I unfolded myself from a front bucket seat. Can't imagine how Albert ended up in the back, with the cutie from 45C. Around to the hatch back, trying not to see too much... Reo Speedwagon shirt and clean socks...I changed into fresh clothing. The track opened to the public at 9 a.m. In the next two plus hours we watched "Happy Hour," the final practice for Sunday's main event and the opening ceremonies for the Busch Race. NASCAR'S Busch Racing always seemed a tune up to me. Amateurs were running fast and furious trying to Scale the heights to greatness. Cars scream and bump and fly much faster, Alive and in front of you, Roaring madly, instead of on a television set. I confess, I do not remember the winner of the Saturday race, although an online search told me it was one of the Burton brothers by a nose in a rain delayed and crash ridden event. Naturally the second evening at the glorious Texas race track Announced itself with arguments, cold burgers and dwindling Supplies of beverages and shorter tempers. "Crap, did you eat the rest of the fries?" "All the ice is melted and we only have three more beers." "Really? maybe you should drink slower." I dove into the back seat and covered my head with my worn jean jacket, determined to get enough sleep to be able to enjoy the race the following day. No shame, Sunday morning I peed beside the car. A shower or brushed teeth since Friday? Forget it. "Southern 500" Terry Labonte shirt and changed shorts Compensate for creature comforts and cleanliness. Arching my back and finger combing my hair I stand, Ready to watch the drivers race on the track of my dreams. Albert and I once more walked toward the speedway, with many friendly words and waves to the people we had lived alongside for the last day and a half. We were like a small commune. The brunch grills were on and TV's and radios were tuned to pre-race shows. American and driver 's flags popped in the breeze and stood against the light rain. Al seemed to be looking at something directly across the path from lot 54C, where the girl from Friday night sat with a burley guy in a Rusty Wallace shirt. Noon came and went and still the rain blasted down. Albert and I went back and forth to concessions, beer, and bathroom. Six times the jet driers circled the track blowing hot air. Clear skies were promised in 45 minutes, All drivers called to their cars to await the start. Roaring winds and rain drops blistered the track again. We sat in the stands shivering for an hour and a half drenched. Even the areas under the stands where the concessions were housed were wet and the wind blew the rain in. About three hours after the scheduled start time, the rain had finally stopped, and the track was dry enough for opening prayers, and "gentlemen, start your engines." None too soon, the track finally ready, the cars screamed to life. A field of racers 43 strong stream to the green flag. Some who still race, some retired, some you may as well forget. Cope, Earnhardt Jr, Gordon, Jarrett, and the Labonte brothers are there too. Around the last corner and to the green flag they come, Ramming the gas pedal deep and screamed into the first turn. There were three more rain delays and subsequent track drying before the final forty some odd lap sprint to the finish in the gathering dusk. Nearly feral, the cars scream wild freed horsepower. Around the oval track they go beating and banging Sparking and smoking. Ricky's cooked motor throws smoke and oil. Caution flag comes out for clean up and another pit stop. All cars come down for the attention of their teams. Right over the wall into the mix they jump ready. Albert was standing on his seat, nervously twisting his hat in his hands and jumping up and down. Now into the pits screams that Budweiser car. A third generation driver and rock and roll kid. Sits at the wheel ready to burn more rubber. Car is jacked, wheels changed, fuel added. Adrenalin fueled his pit crew to adjust, and fix minor damage. Right twist the jack handle. 13 seconds later the red rocket is away. The finish was close, but in the end when the checkered flag had pushed the breeze aside, an older racer motored to victory lane. Naturally a man from Texas named Terry won the race, and I cheered. Albert hoped for the Earnhart kid in the number 8 car, Still, as the rain started again his smile matched mine. Car haulers started loading racing machines as we wandered out to parking. A long slow line of race traffic awaited us on our trip back to the base. Remembering the weekend I await another NASCAR adventure. That's my favorite sports event story. I hope you can relate to it. If not, maybe you should check your television sports listings, or go to a track near you, and join us, who are proud to bleed and sweat redneck, white and blue!


New York City Taxi Ride Getting to the hotel from the airport in a city cab was an adventure in and of itself. We were locked in a screaming yellow bullet, humming and skimming over the surface streets. We came to see the sites of the Big Apple. New York city nights, Times Square, the Twin Towers' monument, Lady Liberty and all awaited us, should we survive this taxi ride. I was praying to St. Christopher, not believing he could part traffic, but somehow we made it to the hotel alive and unharmed, besides seat belt bruises and the taxi fare. "Want to go see some things tonight after I shower and change?" "I will go anywhere with you that involves a cold beer and walking. No more taxi rides today!"


Painted Skies


In great blue black swirls

I painted the night sky.

"Darker! Darker!" I would cry.

Stars gleamed as pearls

bits of light penetrating whorls.

Even ebony could not deny.


The quiet stillness below

a barely discernible blanket

here and there a tree's silhouette

or cottage window glow

added to what I chose to show

as I dabbed with paint wet.


A nocturnal still life was revealed

as my ravenous brush I did wield.



Parrots Along the big brown river. Red feathers contrast vividly. Along the big brown river. Screaming like a banshee, they fly in flocks of color, red feathers contrast vividly. Giant birds and some smaller carry rainbows on their back. They fly in flocks of color. Traders carry them in a sack, showing them to greedy buyers, carry rainbows on their back. Clouds of Amazon tree top flyers, captured for feathers and trade; showing them to greedy buyers. Slowly the parrot's colors fade along the big brown river, captured for feathers and trade, along the big brown river.












Pausing Beneath The Oak Tree


Looking up I behold spreading branches holding the sun. When eve is done you slowly fade into the dark. In the park where I play The tall oak grows. Under your shadows I run and play day by day.





















Photographs


Thumbtack bitten and dog-eared

center-creased and partly discolored,

your smile still shows bright red,

young and beautiful you appeared.


Old pictures transferred to new wallet,

I seem to be able to renew everything,

like mother earth's rebirth in the spring.

Still your memory makes my heart fret.


I am left with photographs and memories

of when you and I loved and lived as one.

Are you sorry for leaving my life undone?

I am left lifeboat-less upon tears' seas.


I carefully tuck these memories away,

though sadness is barely kept at bay.



Pink Cranes Pink cranes come from under fingers, as by your small working table I linger, telling stories of traveling and writing, that fly off into skies split with lightning. I marvel at your skill and ease in creating and wonder at the stack of paper waiting. You tell tales mysterious and enlightening, that fly off into skies split with lightning. Some creations are sold, some given away to the many children who pause on their way. They are in a hurry like birds on the wing, that fly off into skies split with lightning. Pink cranes come from under fingers, that fly off into skies split with lightning.



















Pulpwood Truck


Twelve wheels pulverize the old dirt road and throw it up in blinding dust curtains that slowly shimmer in the summer heat. On the way to the papermill, a pulp load, overstacked and held on by trace chains that slowly shimmer in the summer heat. Hardwood stacked 18 feet or more high as the big diesel truck barrels along, on a route from woodyard to millyard. Smell the smoke, hear the engine cry. Blood and sweat and toil is its song, on a route from woodyard to millyard. Swathes of cleared forest lay far behind as she barrels through the summer sun. From the past where river drivers strode, to a future, nature laid waste by mankind. Steadily onward the roads of progress run, from the past where river drivers strode.



Purple Dawn Down in the sagebrush country where some of the real old west still clings to the land we wandered. Here lie the rusted steel bands of an old wagon wheel. There twin ruts follow pioneer dreams across miles of wide open prairie broken by the four lane highway. We followed it to this secluded campsite. In the purple dawn light I hear you turn over and groan. "I've had enough of this camping fun, let's stay in a hotel tonight and tomorrow." Looks like our nomad tumbleweeding days are about to catch on the edge of civilization and spring roots again.



ROCKING IN THE FREE WORLD Raucous hard-driven pounding rhythm Out of gigantic towering speakers Called to me across the speedway. Kingdom Come, Dokken, Scorpions... I was waiting on Metallica and Van Halen. Nearly smothered against the stage, Gritty and sweaty I stood screaming. It was the summer of my 13th birthday Neither boy nor man; rock music fan. The power of music moves me! Hand held high, I am a waving statue, Eiffel in a racetrack infield. From the west came thunderheads Ripped with lightning flashes "Evacuate the grandstands!" Eerie silence and darkness, power killed. Walking through the mud to my brother's car, On the other side of a big parking lot, Rated as uncool, but quickly improved. "Looks like we can restart the show!" Dirty, we headed back inside the raceway.











Room To Breathe


In Montana the sky is so big that it takes a day for your mind to catch up with what is seen and felt by your heart and eye. You told me a place like this would really give you room to breathe and a chance for time alone, to sort out your feelings and rediscover if what we had was real. I left you at a hotel in Bozeman with two packs of smokes, four beers, dirty laundry, bruises, and a Greyhound ticket out of my life. In Montana the big sky turned red with my rage. I wonder, if time apart and room to breathe will always mean that my usefulness has been snuffed out, like a cheap cigarette.

Sea-Smoothed Rock


Wave-tossed rocks, churning and tumbling, eternally washed by ocean; along the seashore all is smoothed and beautiful. Churning and tumbling, the same salt in the water is the salt of my tears, of my blood, and of my love. Eternally washed by the ocean, my dreams are sustained by brief walks upon the strand after being away too long. Along the seashore, the spell is cast, like a fisherman's net, and the ocean owns me forever in her heart. All is smooth and beautiful. I am the rock softened and kept forever upon this narrow margin, where land and water make love.






Something About Diamonds


Diamonds sparkled in headlights,

still strewn across the highway

after careless sweepers had gone.


Another fatal car wreck cataloged;

too much alcohol and speed

had claimed three more teens.


Categorized as a typical Friday night,

the trooper shrugs helpless at the way,

drinking and driving still goes on.


Head down, expression dogged,

thinking of diamonds that bleed,

He hates highway death scenes.























Speak Easy

It was easy for us to speak of forever while sitting in the misty fog of a St. John's morning. We had been up all night drinking Tim Hortons coffee and listening to Great Big Sea. You laughed as I tried to sing the words to Mary-Mac in my stumbling rhymless way. I wasn't the under a balcony serenading type. At The Lookout, I straddled a cannon, and you took my picture in the misty half light of cold spring dawn. I have the beat up Polaroid, tacked on a cork board on my wall. It takes me back to 1993, and Newfoundland. I saw you today with your husband, and tried to remember what we actually had. We shared a love for Irish ancestry, and an easy way of speaking of forever. Forever and love was easy, like the misty fog that creeps in on a St. John's morning.















Spring Without The Letter “E It is spring in Florida. I pack my bags and digital, flock south with a flight full of tourists. Tampa, Florida glows in the sun. I didn't know what I would find, a survivor of North Dakota's six months of cold, wind, and snow. I forgot what sun could do, sparkling off a body laying on bright sand. Now I know I am not young or as built as most party boys stumbling through Tampa today, but a smiling girl is walking my way, so in Florida I will stay!














Stargazer Lily


Brilliant flash of color and leaf looking toward the sun in disbelief. How did you create such majesty for me to morning wander and see? Standing upon slim verdant stalk, your bright beauty pauses my walk. I feel as if gazing upon heavenly host, of your elegance you should boast. Little stargazer of pinks and gold, in the sunlight standing tall and bold with looks subtle and sweet, you make my day complete.























Static Radio


The a.m. radio morning static

calls to me in staccato bursts.

Voices come through erratic,

"mumble...something...firsts..."


I am looking for 80's rock

or morning talk show hosts,

instead I get noise to mock;

voice fragments and ghosts.


I switch to the f.m. side,

hoping for some company,

but all across the band wide,

nothing at all comes to me.


The a.m. radio morning static

calls to me in staccato bursts.

Voices come through erratic,

"mumble...something...firsts..."



















Steamer Trunk


You wait for me so far away,

like a pirate upon the sea,

behind an old rusted lock

double packed with memories.


An old battered steamer trunk,

heaved upon the splintered dock,

double packed with memories,

behind an old rusted lock.


My emotions I keep tight

my heart in hand I squeeze

behind an old rusted lock,

double packed with memories.


I am ever the seafaring man,

shipwrecked upon a rock

double packed with memories,

behind an old rusted lock.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page