top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

A Few Poems To Share

Beyond The Red Door


I know not what waits

beyond the red door.

Could it be a haunted house

with ghosts galore,

or a gore splattered mess?

I really must confess

my curiosity was piqued

by a picture on the internet.

I wouldn't open

the red door on a bet!


BLAZING AND BREATHLESS


"Bringing In the Sheaves" and "Old Rugged Cross."

Loud voices praising The Lord boomed through the church.

Altar strung with garland and Christmas lights.

Zion seemed so far away across miles of snow covered fields.

I tracked the progress of birds outside frosted windows,

Nipping and pecking at seeds and suet,

Grim, determined to survive the impending blizzard.


After the choirs offering,

Needing no introduction,

Deacon Brother Paul began a slow walk to the pulpit.


Blazing and breathless,

Red faced and ready to wrestle daemons,

Endlessly he beseeched our attention.

A lawless, soulless bunch were we,

Taking the Lord and our fellow man for granted.

Heedless of his righteous wrath,

Lazy snowflakes began to fall,

Easing down from the heavens.

Suet forgotten, the birds flew,

Somehow, I wished to do the same.


Blues Number 22


Gray blue seas of flax

surround tree trunks black;

disturbed rolling plains

driven by summer rains.

Tender stalks bend,

some the winds rend

when they roar like trains

driven by summer rains.

Farm fields on both sides,

arrow strait blacktop divides

this land of flax and grains

driven by summer rains.


Boise Cascade


Water boils past the power plant,

in angry green foamed geysers,

then barrels along downstream.

Onward by the little brick library,

into the hungry mill yard it rolls.

Water boils past the power plant.

Pulpwood and paper machines

mix with pure raging river water

in angry green foamed geysers.

Progress rolls and squeezes

fibers, water, poisons together,

then barrels along downstream.


Books


Somewhere in my collection

is the book I search for,

a book with the answer

to life.

If I hired a librarian,

just the right combination

of brains and looks,

a "don't mess with me attitude,"

glasses and a bun

with a pencil stuck in,

I doubt she could find it.

Bookcases filled,

end and coffee tables stacked,

authors, famous, infamous,

and off the street,

contributed to volumes

of lore.

2000 books, maybe more.

The postman came around today,

delivered a book of poems,

from a disabled veteran,

which will occupy my evening,

with tales of deeds,

war, blood and tears,

in a far off land.

When I am done reading

his tales of flying free,

and contemplate

how his life ties to me,

I shall place it

in a stack

and move on.

I still search.


Boomerang

An abandon echo

never reaching ears,

away we go.

Crumbling like tears,

slipping art deco

is ravaged by years.

Life is an isolated valley,

our blind alley.

Moss slowly grows,

birds and bats call

bathed in moon's glow

needing no reason at all.

We wait here below.

Reviled bugs, we crawl.

One way boomerang,

our death dirge sang.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page