top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

A Few States And Mountains

Daybreak In Alabama


I wanted to write a poem

About daybreak in Alabama,

And sadness and poverty,

But then I remembered

I never woke up

In my overpacked car

In the parking lot

Of a dirty motel.


I yawn and stretch

And try to figure out where I am

And how far left I have to go,

But then settle back

Into the comfort of

A Serta Mattress.

I wanted to write a poem

About daybreak in Alabama.


-----------------


Alaska.


It is another super snowy day

In that big beautiful state.

I remember a hot summer

In Alaska

And the days I stood on

Washington

And Exit Glaciers

In shorts

And a tank top,

Another king of the world

Dreaming, always dreaming

Of another super snowy day

In that big beautiful state.


Alaska.


------------------


Arizona


Another sunny day on the highway

Out past Ajo, but aren’t they all?

I think of Jimmy and his dad

Who I always thought

Was an Arizona Viking,

Until the one chilly winter’s evening

When the virus got him too.

Now I pray for Jimmy

And his mom

When I pass through this land,

Squinting in the sun

And imagine

I will be in heaven here,

When no more winters come.


------------------


Arkansas.


In the land of Mapquests and printed directions instead of cellphone speak,

I spilled coffee in the middle of Arkansawyer directions.

The large brown stain and running ink made me guess and navigate by feelings.

Should I take this exit or the one further down the Interstate.

Stones flung from my wheels are little rocks.

Little Rock, a large coffee stain, and me.


Arkansas.


-------------------


California


I used to dream of living there,

Breathing her tired old air.


Cars, trucks, busses, 12 lanes wide.

Ambulances, police, fire, sirens, sirens, sirens….

Lights in the dark. Dark in the light.

I used to dream of living there.

Forever visions of paradise,

Overwhelmed by a rose-hued lens.

Red, the color of excitement

Needles my eyes as she sets.

I used to dream of living there,

Away in the safety of a country town.


I used to dream of living there,

Breathing her tired old air.


-----------------


COLORADO


Can you imagine those rocky mountains

Overlooking these beautiful green lands?

Little did I know my dreams would climb high;

Overlooking these beautiful green lands.

Riding in a window seat of a crowded 747;

Another day and another travel logged.

Denver and old Stapleton come into view,

Overlooking these beautiful green lands.


-------------------


Connecticut


Sometimes my mind

Takes a trip home to Connecticut.

Though I have never lived there

My family memories and blood

Stain that land,

From Greenwich to Union

Every square inch,

Every highway mile

Call out to me.

Where is your DNA?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page