top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Archaeology and Home

Homeward Bound

"Where that blue trailer is used to be a flowered hill. Dad found some Abanaki arrowheads over there, sharp still. Over on this side were two old well-climbed willow trees." They tore down the house but I rebuilt it in my memories.

16 years ago our family moved away from the old farm, Now I visit, trying to show my daughter its charm, “Along here we grew carrots, corn, lettuce and peas…” They tore down the house but I rebuilt it in my memories.

Bulldozers came and beat, bladed, and shaped the land, changing everything my dad built with his own hand. I was sad to see it all gone, like a spring breeze. They tore down the house but I rebuilt it in my memories.

"Where that blue trailer is used to be a flowered hill..." They tore down the house but I rebuilt it in my memories.


-------------------------



You never know what you may find!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page