top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Becoming Death And Other Poems

Becoming Death


“Now I am become death, the destroyer of worlds”—From the Bhagavad-Gita said by Robert Oppenheimer


It is Easter morning.

Slowly we rise from sleep.

Thirty more dead in Baghdad.

Men, women, children,

in uniform and civilian clothing.

Armed and unarmed,

Christian and Muslim brothers,

death didn't spare one or the other.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

On the third day Jesus rose,

pushing aside the stone

which sealed His tomb.

He began to be revealed

to his followers and

those chosen to do

His work on earth.

First there was Mary,

called the Magdalen,

then the other prophets

in turn and in His time.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

We of Christian belief

celebrate Jesus' resurrection

and rebirth as Easter.

We pause to thank Him

for his eternal gift.

Some go to church,

some read the Bible at home,

while others just hide

and eat multicolored

eggs and chocolate bunnies.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

How then do we go from

loving thy brother

and praying for salvation

to killing others

throughout the world?

We are leaving other mother's

sons crying and grieving.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

It is Easter morning.

The kids are still asleep.

Around the world

shells fall and rockets fly.

Let's get on our knees,

Ask God to spread His love

if it be His will.

Embrace your brothers,

it is never too late to love another.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.


"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

-John 3:16 (KJV)


BECAUSE YOU CARED FOR ME


Beside the living water

Each morning I pause to pray,

Careful to thank you,

Always to praise you.

Uplifting your name,

Salvation and grace you bring,

Eternal, Almighty God.

You looked down from your throne,

Onto my bowed head and heard my prayer.

"Use your power to heal my dear brother."

Cancer was slowly robbing him of strength;

An internal battle was raging.

Radiation and doctors tried

Evening the odds,

Defying death with science.

Four courses of Chemotherapy,

Overlaid with drugs and prayer for my brother.

Rail thin and bald, he slowly responded.

"Must be a miracle," says his doctor.

Each morning I thank you, because You care for us!


Behold, I will bring it health and cure, and I will cure them, and will reveal unto them the abundance of peace and truth.”

-Jeremiah 33:6 (KJV)


Balm For A Tired Spirit


When I thirst He brings water to refresh.

When I am weak, He restores my flesh.

To His everlasting will I submit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord walks with me and guides me.

In His love from prison I am set free.

On a heavenly throne He continues to sit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want.

To Him I call when the devil comes to taunt.

As promised, my loss He does not permit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

-Philippians 4:13 (KJV)


AUTUMN


"All that I have seen teaches me to believe in the creator I have not seen."


Under a cloudless blue sky I sweat in the sun.

Today is Harvest Fest here on Minot Air Force Base.

Usually the parking lot at the Shoppette is empty on Saturday afternoon.

Moms and dads have brought their children to play and build scarecrows.

November will bring cold and snow, but today fall is beautiful.


"All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen."

- Ralph Waldo Emerson 1803 - 1882


Becoming Death


“Now I am become death, the destroyer of worlds”—From the Bhagavad-Gita said by Robert Oppenheimer


It is Easter morning.

Slowly we rise from sleep.

Thirty more dead in Baghdad.

Men, women, children,

in uniform and civilian clothing.

Armed and unarmed,

Christian and Muslim brothers,

death didn't spare one or the other.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

On the third day Jesus rose,

pushing aside the stone

which sealed His tomb.

He began to be revealed

to his followers and

those chosen to do

His work on earth.

First there was Mary,

called the Magdalen,

then the other prophets

in turn and in His time.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

We of Christian belief

celebrate Jesus' resurrection

and rebirth as Easter.

We pause to thank Him

for his eternal gift.

Some go to church,

some read the Bible at home,

while others just hide

and eat multicolored

eggs and chocolate bunnies.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

How then do we go from

loving thy brother

and praying for salvation

to killing others

throughout the world?

We are leaving other mother's

sons crying and grieving.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

It is Easter morning.

The kids are still asleep.

Around the world

shells fall and rockets fly.

Let's get on our knees,

Ask God to spread His love

if it be His will.

Embrace your brothers,

it is never too late to love another.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.


"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

-John 3:16 (KJV)


BECAUSE YOU CARED FOR ME


Beside the living water

Each morning I pause to pray,

Careful to thank you,

Always to praise you.

Uplifting your name,

Salvation and grace you bring,

Eternal, Almighty God.

You looked down from your throne,

Onto my bowed head and heard my prayer.

"Use your power to heal my dear brother."

Cancer was slowly robbing him of strength;

An internal battle was raging.

Radiation and doctors tried

Evening the odds,

Defying death with science.

Four courses of Chemotherapy,

Overlaid with drugs and prayer for my brother.

Rail thin and bald, he slowly responded.

"Must be a miracle," says his doctor.

Each morning I thank you, because You care for us!


Behold, I will bring it health and cure, and I will cure them, and will reveal unto them the abundance of peace and truth.”

-Jeremiah 33:6 (KJV)


Balm For A Tired Spirit


When I thirst He brings water to refresh.

When I am weak, He restores my flesh.

To His everlasting will I submit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord walks with me and guides me.

In His love from prison I am set free.

On a heavenly throne He continues to sit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want.

To Him I call when the devil comes to taunt.

As promised, my loss He does not permit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

-Philippians 4:13 (KJV)


AUTUMN


"All that I have seen teaches me to believe in the creator I have not seen."

Under a cloudless blue sky I sweat in the sun.

Today is Harvest Fest here on Minot Air Force Base.

Usually the parking lot at the Shoppette is empty on Saturday afternoon.

Moms and dads have brought their children to play and build scarecrows.

November will bring cold and snow, but today fall is beautiful.


"All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen."

- Ralph Waldo Emerson 1803 - 1882

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page