top of page
Search

Bountiful Harvest: The Lord Is In Me

Bountiful Harvest

The Lord In Me

Poetry By Lou Marin

Bountiful Harvest

Born With Music In Me

Blood on my Hands

Behind the Smile

Begging for Pardon

Becoming Death

BECAUSE YOU CARED FOR ME

Balm For A Tired Spirit

AUTUMN

AT THE RAINBOW'S END

A Song I Once Sang

Brand New Day Dawning

A Faded Shawl

A Door To Hell

A Daughter

A Cross To Bear

A Christmas Wreath

ABBA, My Savior

John

1 John 2:15-16

STRONG

SLAVE

Light

Knowing

A to Z

God in the Frost

Lost and Found

Amazing A to Z

Where is He?

Bountiful Harvest

They say trees grow

and the apples ripen well

when the breezes blow

and sunshine indwells.

The fruit of the spirit swells

with love, joy, and peace.

Where the Lord dwells

harvests will increase.

We reap fields we sow

when God’s love we know.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

-Galatians 5:22-23 (KJV)

Born With Music In Me

They say when I was born God was having a sad day;

He put music in my soul, and smiled as there I lay.

I sing along as I work and toil, looking to Him.

No matter the burden I carry, songs chase sadness away.

The faithful Christians say The Lord makes no mistakes.

even though my voice misses octaves, and cracks and breaks.

On a bad day the words and rhymes still come to me.

I sing, even when the lyrics are about sadness; heartbreaks.

Somewhere deep within a song waits to be brought to life,

while the news and world without shows battle and strife.

"All we are saying is give peace a chance," comes out,

and my sadness is cleaved away like a butcher's knife.

I feel the words of a song deep within my heart,

I sing out loud at home, work, or at the grocery mart,

pushing vegetables to the rhythm of a squeaky wheeled cart.

I am glad that The Lord gave me a musical start.

“Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands. Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing.”

-Psalm 100:1-2 (KJV)

Blood on my Hands

Costumed children dance and cavort.

They line up costumed, tall and short,

ghosts, pirates, super heroes too,

shrieking 'trick or treat,' and 'boo!'

On this ghoulish night they go forth,

canvassing streets south to north,

ringing bells and seeking candy

or whatever goodies you have handy.

It seems on this night we dwell in dark,

rather in seriousness or a playful lark.

The costume sellers make gross profits,

while we dress in cloaks of evil that fits.

Hallow's Eve descends across the lands

and once again I find blood on my hands,

for I chose to celebrate this debauchery

instead of remembering He who made me.

One more child dressed as the devil.

I recall Celts around a bonfire did revel

on this night hundreds of years ago.

We pay homage to hell down below

instead of the Lord, God upon high,

when 'trick or treat,' we do loudly cry.

Remember as Hallowe'en replaces day,

do not invite evil in or push God’s glory away!

“Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils;”

-1 Timothy 1:4 (KJV)

Behind the Smile

Behind the smile painted on bright,

cries the clown lonely in the night.

Behind the eyes flashing and winking

lives the lonely muse thinking.

Behind the cross He was left to bear

stands Jesus in heaven, waiting for you there.

Not all is as it seems in life,

but praying to Him will ease your strife.

This world will not always be easy for you,

but believe in Him and your soul will be new.

No hiding behind fake painted smile or flashing eyes,

just eternal salvation vast and pure as summer skies.

“Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?”

-Jeremiah 32:27 (KJV)

Begging for Pardon

Pater noster, qui es in caelis:

sanctificetur Nomen Tuum;

adveniat Regnum Tuum;

fiat voluntas Tua, sicut in caelo, et in terra.

Panem nostrum cotidianum da nobis hodie;

et dimitte nobis debita nostra,

Sicut et nos dimittimus debitoribus nostris;

et ne nos inducas in tentationem;

sed libera nos a Malo.

The Bible told me,

so I believed it to be true.

When I spoke to The Lord

and begged for pardon,

the best way would be

a knee bent and soul bared

fervent prayer.

Lord I have done wrong.

I am a sinner

please take this broken

shell of a man

and forgive me.

The Good Book can't lie

and The Lord can't cheat,

so when I bare my soul

and He takes my burdens

I am led to green pastures

and my purity is restored.

The Bible told me,

so I live in this truth.

Our Father, which art in Heaven,

Hallowed be thy Name.

Thy kingdom come.

Thy will be done,

in earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.

And forgive us our trespasses,

As we forgive them that trespass against us.

And lead us not into temptation;

But deliver us from evil;

For thine is the kingdom, The power, and the glory,

For ever and ever.

Amen.

“Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.”

-Mark 11:24 (KJV)

Becoming Death

“Now I am become death, the destroyer of worlds”—From the Bhagavad-Gita said by Robert Oppenheimer

It is Easter morning.

Slowly we rise from sleep.

Thirty more dead in Baghdad.

Men, women, children,

in uniform and civilian clothing.

Armed and unarmed,

Christian and Muslim brothers,

death didn't spare one or the other.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

On the third day Jesus rose,

pushing aside the stone

which sealed his tomb.

He began to be revealed

to his followers and

those chosen to do

His work on earth.

First there was Mary,

called the Magdalen,

then the other prophets

in turn and in His time.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

We of Christian belief

celebrate Jesus' resurrection

and rebirth as Easter.

We pause to thank Him

for his eternal gift.

Some go to church,

some read the Bible at home,

while others just hide

and eat multicolored

eggs and chocolate bunnies.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

How then do we go from

loving thy brother

and praying for salvation

to killing others

throughout the world?

We are leaving other mother's

sons crying and grieving.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

It is Easter morning.

The kids are still asleep.

Around the world

shells fall and rockets fly.

Let's get on our knees,

Ask God to spread His love

if it be His will.

Embrace your brothers,

it is never too late to love another.

As for me and my house,

we will serve the Lord.

"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

-John 3:16 (KJV)

BECAUSE YOU CARED FOR ME

Beside the living water

Each morning I pause to pray,

Careful to thank you,

Always to praise you.

Uplifting your name,

Salvation and grace you bring,

Eternal, Almighty God.

You looked down from your throne,

Onto my bowed head and heard my prayer.

"Use your power to heal my dear brother."

Cancer was slowly robbing him of strength;

An internal battle was raging.

Radiation and doctors tried

Evening the odds,

Defying death with science.

Four courses of Chemotherapy,

Overlaid with drugs and prayer for my brother.

Rail thin and bald, he slowly responded.

"Must be a miracle," says his doctor.

Each morning I thank you, because You care for us!

Behold, I will bring it health and cure, and I will cure them, and will reveal unto them the abundance of peace and truth.”

-Jeremiah 33:6 (KJV)

Balm For A Tired Spirit

When I thirst He brings water to refresh.

When I am weak, He restores my flesh.

To His everlasting will I submit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord walks with me and guides me.

In His love from prison I am set free.

On a heavenly throne He continues to sit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want.

To Him I call when the devil comes to taunt.

As promised, my loss He does not permit.

He is the balm for my tired spirit.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

-Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

AUTUMN

"All that I have seen teaches me to believe in the creator I have not seen."

Under a cloudless blue sky I sweat in the sun.

Today is Harvest Fest here on Minot Air Force Base.

Usually the parking lot at the Shoppette is empty on Saturday afternoon.

Moms and dads have brought their children to play and build scarecrows.

November will bring cold and snow, but today fall is beautiful.

"All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen."

- Ralph Waldo Emerson 1803 - 1882

AT THE RAINBOW'S END

"And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh."

-Genesis 9:15 (KJV)

Another day I spend chasing dreams;

Those cravings I really don't need.

The day dawns bright enough,

Heavenly sun and singing birds.

Early morning mists; tranquility.

Random thoughts assail me

As the devil that is society

Intrudes upon me.

"Now who would know if I...

Borrow money from the snack bar...

Or just sneak a cup of coffee...

Warmed Danish and maybe..."

Slippery is the slope I am on.

Eventually small lies and dishonesty pile up,

Naturally, we think we are not that bad...

Drop the charade and look to God for help!

"And He that sat was to look upon like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like unto an emerald."

-Revelation 4:3 (KJV)

A Song I Once Sang

I tilted my head back, screamed to the sky.

The pain was intense and my tears flew.

"Dear God, what do you want? Why, Why, Why?"

I was faithful, worshiping the best way I knew.

I had seen the world tough and cruel too,

but always thought if I prayed pain would ease.

"Dear God in heaven, I looked to you,

I hope you are there for me, I beg, please."

I was hoping for divine wind or at least a breeze.

I got nothing for my yelling besides more tears,

so I again talked to God from my knees,

hoping my words reached His divine ears.

God, I am sorry for my failures and trespasses.

I pray to you, my salvation on most High.

My Lord, I will defend you before the masses,

and not blame you when failures make me ask why.

“My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? why art thou so far from helping me, and from the words of my roaring?”

-Psalm 22:1 (KJV)

Brand New Day Dawning

Doubtlessly, it is a good trail

to be on as I walk,

smiling past the green-lawned

perfection of a cemetery,

laid out like God's golf course.

I am overjoyed to be alive

on a sunny day. I walk

seeing birds ground poking

and children puddle jumping.

Today's sun, God made of course.

I smiled through shadows,

feeling alive as I walk

in the quiet of early morning.

My way is plotted and laid out

trying to follow God's course.

Shew me thy ways, O Lord; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.”

-Psalm 25:4-5 (KJV)

A Faded Shawl

Doubtlessly, it is a good trail

to be on as I walk,

smiling past the green-lawned

perfection of a cemetery,

laid out like God's golf course.

I am overjoyed to be alive

on a sunny day. I walk

seeing birds ground poking

and children puddle jumping.

Today's sun, God made of course.

I smiled through shadows,

feeling alive as I walk

in the quiet of early morning.

My way is plotted and laid out

trying to follow God's course.

Shew me thy ways, O Lord; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.”

-Psalm 25:4-5 (KJV)

A Door To Hell

A door to hell awaits all,

who at righteousness balk.

"Listen to forbidden fruit's call,

enter, no need to knock."

A door thrust open wide,

at the end of an ornate walk

beckoned all to come inside.

"Enter, no need to knock."

The narrow door to salvation,

built upon Christ's eternal rock

is the most worthy final destination.

"Enter, no need to knock."

“Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.”

-Matthew 7:13-14 (KJV)

"So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

- Luke 11:9-10 (KJV)

A Daughter

My hands,

hard and calloused,

are made gentle

by God,

that I may,

though clumsily,

carefully,

fasten barrettes

and ponytails,

into my baby's

soft hair.

My heart,

scarred and scared,

by life,

is abundant with love

for God,

when I look

into the eyes,

created

perfect and bright

and clear.

My Emily,

it appears

I am blessed.

“Children's children are the crown of old men; and the glory of children are their fathers.”

-Proverbs 17:6 (KJV)

A Cross to Bear

They say whenever you sin,

you pound yet another nail in

to the Lord our God on high,

but never stop to hear Him cry.

Imagine His eternity of pain,

as we fall short again and again.

For us He continues to rein,

standing tall through thick and thin.

He has a cross to bear, no deny.

We seek His perfection in vain.

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.”

-Luke 9:23 (KJV)

A Christmas Wreath

Balsam fir's holiday scent near the front door,

a Christmas wreath greets all visitors this season.

Eternal life and salvation are offered once more.

Red bow symbolizes blood spilled and the reason.

A decorative bell; we are sheep, He is Shepherd evermore.

Though the weather outside is snowy and freezing,

today we greet one another with warmth and love.

This wreath helps us remember heaven above.

He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him.”

-John 3:36 (KJV)

ABBA, My Savior

Abba, my Savior

I pray to thee,

Hear my plea,

change my behavior.

Father, oh Father,

draw me near,

help me to adhere

to beauty you prefer.

Lord, my Lord,

I shall praise you,

in all that I do,

my eternal reward.

Abba, my Savior,

you heard my plea

and have saved me;

strength never to waver.

“For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.”

-Romans 8:15 (KJV)

John

John the Baptist prepared the way;

his voice called in the wilderness,

‘Prepare the way for the Lord,

make straight paths for Him.'

His voice called in the wilderness

as I wandered alone and afraid

with no hope for heaven,

burning in hell on earth.

Prepare the way for the Lord,

you who have a tortured soul,

you who know only evil,

and you will be forgiven.

Make straight paths for Him,

that you may have eternal life

and stand beside the throne.

Salvation is never too late.

“The voice of him that crieth in the wilderness, Prepare ye the way of the Lord, make straight in the desert a highway for our God.”

-Isaiah 40:3 (KJV)

1 John 2: 15-16

Do not love the world or the things of the world.

If anyone loves the world, they do not love the Father.

This is all found on the green earth; sensual lust,

enticement for the eyes, and a pretentious life.

It is not from the Father but from the deceiver.

If anyone loves the world, they do not love the Father.

All the evils and sins of Mother Earth create barriers

to a future of everlasting perfection in heaven.

If you walk and wade in the filth of life and death

you will find yourself in the everlasting fire.

This is all I found on the green earth; sensual lust,

because it is really all I looked for daily.

I was a servant of sin, letting evil in.

Daily I searched for more carnal pleasure,

and ways to separate myself from the Lord.

Enticement for the eyes, and a pretentious life

were all there waiting for me in magazines,

upon the internet and the dirty streets,

and I grabbed vice and grime with both hands,

partaking of the quick fix, here and now.

It is not from the Father but from the deceiver;

all the paintings and trappings of hell.

Sadly it is easier to wallow in the mire here,

then to have everlasting love in His Kingdom,

but lusts you must spurn, or forever burn.

Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”-1 John 2:15 (KJV)

Bullrushes

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

the wicked Pharaoh answered satan's bribe,

"persecute the Chosen until there are none,

and we can corrupt their God's ways,

turning all man into my sinful style."

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

a Levite man married one of his tribe

who gave birth to a fine young son.

who she kept hidden for many days

loving and caring for him all the while.

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

Mother could hide her child no longer,

so she wove a basket made from papyrus

with a pitch and sealing tar coating,

to keep it bobbing along for awhile.

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

she placed the innocent on a scrap of fur

and his small cheek she did kiss and bus

in his basket by the river bank floating,

among reeds, where the waves wouldn't rile.

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

big sister secretly watched out for him.

Pharaoh’s daughter and retinue went to bathe,

and saw the basket among the matted weeds.

She sent a slave to get it out of the pile.

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

a crying baby looked over the basket rim,

snug and dry inside the waterproof lathe.

"I will get a Hebrew women for his needs,"

said the baby's sibling without guile.

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

the chosen nursemaid was the baby's mother.

Pharaoh’s daughter ordered the happy lady,

“Take this baby and raise him for me.

Keep him from everything evil and vile."

Beside the muddy and wide river Nile,

the lady loved the tot and he loved her.

She returned child to Pharaoh’s daughter sadly,

who said, "His name Moses will now be.

He came from water, where he floated a while."

“And when she could not longer hide him, she took for him an ark of bulrushes, and daubed it with slime and with pitch, and put the child therein; and she laid it in the flags by the river's brink.”

-Exodus 2:3 (KJV)

STRONG

Some days I sit thinking

Trying to remember my past,

Red-stained with sin.

Once saved, always saved,

Now washed clean by The Blood.

God called me forth from hell.

I am a new man

No longer at the edge,

My fiery pit is memory.

You too can fix the past.

Salvation waits for you

In Jesus’ arms,

Lest you accept Him;

Eternal is damnation.

Now I have a glorious future,

Called to serve the Lord,

Eagerly I pray for you!

That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.”

-Romans 10:9 (KJV)

SLAVE

Who made me a slave

To the sins that bound me,

Cast into an open grave

With no hope ever to be free,

Was it Satan or some other?

To the sins that bound me

I was a faithful follower.

Before He was nailed to a tree

I was sinking lower,

With no way out.

Cast into an open grave

I had no idea how to receive

The gift He gives

When others only deceive,

Though we eagerly believe.

With no hope ever to be free,

I wallowed in misery,

Never once bending my knee

To accept what He had for me.

Was it Satan or some other

Who corrupted my life

And started to smother

Me with hate and strife.

Thank you Jesus for my new life!

O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?”

-Romans 7:24 (KJV)

Light

I am reading of The Light of the World

And how God first brought it forth, bright

Like a huge and new banner unfurled,

Separating wondrous day from night,

On the very first day of creation.

And how God first brought it forth; bright!

Where once there was darkness everywhere,

Millions of cosmos blinked with light,

Beautiful and eternal, with brilliance so fair.

In the snap of almighty fingers, sun.

Like a huge and new banner unfurled,

A new vision shone in the heavens,

Bright, majestic, beautifully pearled.

Everlasting the heavens, their light sends.

In awe struck fear, darkness runs.

Separating wondrous day from night;

A gilded curtain rising on act one,

We should all marvel at the sight

Of new creation, and slumber done,

Victory over an everlasting void won.

On the very first day of creation,

Like a giant polarized switch flipped

As rapid as electricity can run,

Through the cosmos radiance ripped.

On the very first day of creation.

And God said, Let there be light: and there was light.”

-Genesis 1:3 (KJV)

Knowing

I don’t pretend to know the future,

Being not a seer or soothsayer

But I know who I am and where I am going.

Every morning and night

I hit my knees and thank God.

For the gift of Jesus

And His blood

Washed me clean

And carried me through tough times.

I can not thank Him enough,

But I know when I reach

The promised land,

I will be able to take His hand!

“In my Father's house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.”

-John 14:2 (KJV)

A to Z

“Amazing Grace,” Beauty found in man made hell. Called to serve, Daily I pray for guidance. Eternity at Jesus’ side, Forsaking a life of sin. God is watching He knows all. “I once was lost, now I am found.” Jesus died that we may live. King on high! Leader of mankind. Magnificent and glorious! No one can replace Him. One with the Father! Prayers answered if we ask. Quieting the storms Raging in you and me. Such a magnificent gift. Three days that changed the world! Under one God we stand! Vows to keep His people for eternity. We should praise Him for all. Xenagogue to the hopeless. You are my rock! Zealously I serve you!

“One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.”

-Ephesians 4:6 (KJV)

God in the Frost

The fall sun dapples a frosted lawn,

Brightening a chilly Tuesday morning.

As I pour coffee and scripture

Into my mind, body, and soul,

I realize God is near today.

Brightening a chilly Tuesday morning,

I am thankful The Light of the world

Lets me see the light of day

So I can see His wonders

And tell others of His glory.

As I pour coffee and scripture,

Using one to stimulate my mind

And the other to succor my soul,

I realize how blessed and fortunate

Is the man who head’s God’s teaching,

Into my mind, body, and soul,

God has placed His light

And made my life so much more

Than the hollow shell it once was.

I praise The Almighty forever!

I realize God is near today

As entranced, I gaze out upon

The delicately painted beauty

Of the morning sun’s rays

Playing upon a frost covered lawn.

“And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”

-1 kings 19:12 (KJV)

Lost and Found

In the words of “Amazing Grace;”

I once was lost but now am found.

Although some days are a struggle

And I don’t always like what the mirror shows,

I know it is a whole lot better and more

Than the man I used to be,

So I rejoice that God can see,

Not only the man I was,

But also who I long to be.

Amazing is His grace!

“For the Lord most high is terrible; He is a great King over all the earth.”

-Psalm 47:2 (KJV)

Amazing A to Z

The world is amazing, A to Z,

The Lord created you and me!

Today I shall stop to pray

The beauty never goes away!

The Lord created you and me

As perfect as we can be

But sometimes I corrupt myself

And risk wasting that wealth.

Today I shall stop to pray

And thank the Lord in every way.

That He created such greatness

For such as us nonetheless.

The beauty never goes away.

No amount of money we can pay

To ever earn this blessing,

To think otherwise is sin!

But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.”

-Matthew 10:33 (KJV)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page