top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Cape Rock Poetry


Dark Days And Theft Of A Dusky Symbol


I wonder at dark days and theft,

when I hear a story from my coastal home

of what is taken, and what is left.

Would they take a bald man's comb?

They stole the carved crow

off the Crow Tracks business sign pole.

Why? I am sure I don't know

does it make them feel whole?

Down on Water Street in Eastport.

the sign hangs bare now,

with no customers to court,

the owner wants to start a row.

Somewhere a 15-inch long

black wooden crow waits,

ready to sound his coarse song

in this town of fishermen and bait.

A broken dowel on a pole remains

where once the bird stood

in snows and summer rains,

remnants of the statue made of wood.

The police were called and took pictures

and stood chin scratching;

not providing society's illness cures,

just wishing they had ideas hatching.

I pray the crow flies home soon,

replaced by repentant vandals,

perhaps by the light of the moon.

In small towns theft makes large scandals.

I wonder at dark days and theft,

when I hear a story from my coastal home

of what is taken, and what is left.

Would they take a bald man's comb?

Dreaming Of Trains

A young boy's dreams of riding rails

are steadily fed with stories and tales.

Grown, engines cease their steam song;

slowly the vision of wandering derails.

I watched diesel trains move along,

blunt featured, efficient and strong.

I wonder at all the romance sadly lost

upon tracks where the smokers belong.

I guess the environment paid the cost

of belching, dirty coal smoke exhaust,

but sparks flying and blackened plumes

make my railroad picture pretty, glossed.

I see switchyard engines blow oily fumes,

but wish I was relaxing in Pullman rooms.

I never outgrew railroad dreams I assume

as my boyhood hobo fantasy resumes.

Elephant Mountain

"Watch out for that ice!"

"View sure is nice."

"Wait until we get to the top,

plenty of time to stop."

"I am a little cold."

The north wind was bold

as we climbed Elephant Mountain

north of Rangeley, Maine.

My brother Digger and I

under a crystal blue sky

were on a treasure quest,

without gold in a chest.

We looked for antlers dropped.

Where the trail stopped

we parked our snowmobile,

put on shoe spikes of steel,

and started up a game trail,

alongside an abandoned mine rail.

Poking through deer bed downs,

nothing here on the ground

except the trampled rent snow,

left behind by buck or doe.

We stopped by a blow-down,

for a drink and to sit down.

Digger's dented thermos cup

full of coffee we drank up.

My cold feet I began to stamp.

"Guess we better head for camp."

We climbed back on the sled,

following the trail laid ahead.

Down Elephant Mountain we flew.

This treasure did we accrue,

time spent as brothers,

better than gold and all others!

Fireflies

I can tell you from experience

fireflies don't taste as sweet

as their color would indicate

but if you sample them just right

tasting them will get you a date.

I can tell you from experience

that teen boys craving attention

will try to do just about anything

to get a girl to look their way,

when emotions jump like springs.

I can tell you from experience

that two fireflies on a tongue

don't light up your entire face,

but leave an acrid residue,

that even water won't chase.

I can tell you from experience

that a sweet kiss lasts long

and there is magic in hugs.

Mostly though my memory carries

the taste of dirty fluorescent bugs.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page