top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Chapter 7 Of Rail and Road Trip II

----------------------------------------------SEVEN-------------------------------

Being a Christian, I have certain beliefs that my daughter does not share, but one thing we do share is a love for all, so we went to church twice. It was not a church that I would have picked on my own, but I was willing to go with her to both Sunday worship at the Zao MKE Church, and an event called Holy Spirits At The Bar, a rather informal group discussion at a local art club and bar. Here are a few things from Zao MKE’s page:


We root our community in the life, person, and teaching of Jesus Christ as represented by the Christian Bible: a radical brown Palestinian peasant, the God who is with us, preaching love, justice, and resistance. We look to Jesus to speak truth into our present circumstances through both the historical context of the bible and the universal truths of Jesus’ teaching.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ leads us directly into the work of justice – the active and engaged struggle for all to be free, both spiritually and physically. We stand with Jesus, who always stands with the oppressed and marginalized, against those powers and principalities of injustice.

The call for justice issued by the gospel of Jesus Christ is for the purpose of reconciling all things into wholeness with God. To that end, we seek to build a radically inclusive community and world, wherein all people are valued in the fullness of who God has made them to be – affirmed, celebrated, and loved. We explicitly affirm the life, value, and worth of LGBTQIA people, and the Movement for Black Lives.

So, though they did not use ‘my favorite version of The Holy Bible, the King James Version, and though they were not the diehard Baptists I was used to worshipping with, I used my love of Jesus, and tried to use His examples to love all the worshippers, instead of trying to be a better Chrsitian by showing why I was different than all of them, because that is what my daughter does, and that is what my Jesus does. Love all!




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page