top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Easy City Morning

Easy City Morning


From the perfect red horizon of an early morning

driving across Lake Pontchartrain

to the skyscrapers uptown.

No thought nor prejudice,

save the rose colored glasses

that make everything tranquil and loving.

Crescent City, I love thee.

I sense that all is well

when I wake next to you

and ease out of bed,

stretching and yawning.

A quick shower and coffee.

I am ready for another day of bliss.

Perhaps a stroll through the French Quarter,

and a visit to the Audubon Zoo await.

Too bad all our bliss

is hidden in my dreams.

I miss you.


Humiliation is but a word

for those who do not know

how to relax

in this Cajun paradise.

One foot in front

of the other

and my smile

traced with another

makes all life

as easy as a Coltrane tune

winding through

the heavy summer air.

"Relaxation" is how they say

heaven down there.


The early morning stretches

across Lake Pontchartrain

to Old Metairie and uptown.

New Orleans I love you,

with no bad thoughts,

nor prejudice.

These rose colored glasses

will do for now,

until I stroll

the cobbles stones

of the French Quarter

with thee my love.

With thee.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page