top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Fishfood Words

Pelican

Pelican watches

sisters and brothers wash up.

It knew waters like blue skies.

Lost flocks linger in his sad eyes.

Sisters and brothers washed up.

Is this the way we live,

spreading wings, no way to fly?

Is this the way we die?

It knew, waters like blue skies

Pontchartrain and the Bayou

grass, rocks and sand,

sheen upon bay and land.

Lost flocks linger in sad eyes,

another memory of what was,

nature tossed aside like swill.

Pelican keeps vigil.

Spanish Moss

The Spanish moss still hangs

from the old cypress trees;

a forgotten friend draped

across arms of the forest.

From the old cypress trees

I climbed barefoot and boyish,

I beheld and ruled my kingdom

until evening fogs rolled in.

A forgotten friend draped

in the imaginative finery

of a king my mirror shows

as I remember Louisiana.

Across arms of the forest

I once spread like fire and fear.

Now I sit with memories

of Spanish moss and you

23 September News Storeom

I wonder if I shall ever love again

without thinking

the lady must not be

named/take after a hellish storm.

Down in the Gulf,

Rita angrily churns.

Maximum sustained winds of 135 mph

and 20-foot storm surge.

How many more?

How many more?

In New Orleans

The hell that was

the Ninth Ward

loses another levee.

Three weeks after Katrina.

Water, more glorious,

God given water.

How high's the water Papa?

waist-deep and rising...

A bus carrying elderly evacuees

Catches fire on

a crowded, stalled highway.

Cruel irony.

Life supporting

oxygen tanks burn so well.

How many more?

How many more?

2 million residents

must evacuate.

A crazy twist,

highways out of Houston,

can't accommodate

a million cars.

Miles and tens of miles

of gridlock.

Once again the National Guard

is providing relief.

This time the other

life giving/taking liquid

gasoline.

On Friday,

Louisiana's death toll

from Hurricane Katrina

rose to 841.

How many more?

How many more?

Yesterday’s Angel

The most beautiful part of a mostly beautiful city,

is kept behind wrought iron gates, with

mini highways traversing throughout,

surrounded by well tended lawns.

The city that knows how to party, knows

how to honor three centuries of dead.

"Down here we bury bodies above ground."

A chill travels the length of my spine

as I look around at the beautiful catacombs.

Mansions of granite or polished marble

built for housing the corpses of New Orleans.

Yesterday's angel slowly winged above

Adams Street Cemetery as Monica gave me

yet another tour of her beautiful city.

We look out of place among dark suited mourners

and the jazz band playing Amazing Grace,

with our Green Day shirts and punk rock hair.

You are only as different as you want to be in New Orleans.

When I die, if there is enough corpse to prepare,

I am not sure I want to be surrounded by rocks and sealed

with my name on a bright plaque for tourists to photograph,

stand, pose and point to file as a memory next to bright beads.

I am pretty sure when what I am now is no more

you can throw me in Lake Pontchartrain in the dark and rain.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page