top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Five to One Words

Worse For Wear


I bought a pair of boots in 92.

Simple black leather,

steel spur holders sewn on the sides.

The best 99 dollars I ever spent.

I call them 760's,

7 dollars and 60 cents a year

if you do the math.

Worn leather, broken in.

Run down at the heel.

North Dakota, Maine, Las Vegas,

New Orleans, New Mexico.

California, to the hell of Death Valley,

and always they carried me back.

Covering my feet in rain,

sliding me across the ice,

away from a rocky marriage.

Last time I saw the 760's

they were in

the corner of a lover's room,

not kicked off, not thrown,

place with care

with an address tag

tied to the spur holder.

A bootery to patch holes

too big for duct tape.

At a house in New Orleans

my boots waited,

while residents evacuated,

and the water broke in.

It didn't know their history,

just that they were in the way.

WHEN IN NEW ORLEANS

Washed upon your shores, I arrived.

However more unromantic;

Exit 265 of Interstate 10,

Now I am home in New Orleans again.

In the last glow of a red-skied sunset,

New friends and old welcome me.

Never do I feel more alive

Elsewhere than here,

Wrapped in evening's light.

Over on the grill,

Redfish slowly blackens.

Lonestar beer comes,

Endlessly mixing with stories.

Another warm bayou night falls,

New Orleans captures me.

Slowly reality floats away.

Welcome Back To New Orleans

"It's what makes New Orleans feel like home, as important as red beans and rice and Mardi Gras. It's hard to explain how important they are as an icon."

A marching band led the parade down

St Charles Street past the old oak trees

that eternally clutch multi-hued

strands of holiday beads

in their moss draped limbs.

Smiles and tears accompanied

the jazz band

leading the procession

as it made its way

with all the pomp and precision

of a notable dignitary's visit.

We didn't have floats,

or breast barring women

on balconies this time,

but green and red street cars

that slowly clanged through

another New Orleans summer day.

They wound past the Garden District,

two years after being nearly destroyed

by the killing waters of Katrina.

Slowly they rolled back into my heart

like a lover returned to me

after time and tides

conspired to keep us apart.

"The streetcars are part of the city's identity, everything from the noise, the clanging down the avenue to the lights at night."

Welcome home!

Walking Shoes

Monica and I parked in a free lot

in front of Jackson's Brewery,

a short walk from The Gold Mine.

We were ready for dancing and fun

on a hot June night in New Orleans.

I tightened my worn tennis shoes.

In front of Jackson's Brewery.

"Make sure the door is locked."

I shuffled and two-stepped around the lot

anxious to get walking.

Ready to drink and mingle,

I was a compressed spring.

A short distance from The Gold Mine,

we were really just three streets away.

Decatur to Dumaine to Dauphine.

The crooked dirty D Streets

rolled beneath our fast feet.

We kicked aside newspapers and empty beer cans.

We were ready for dancing and fun.

Kelli and her boyfriend were going to meet us

at OZ down on Bourbon so we took a quick detour.

We walked down a cobble stoned alley,

pushed through a creaky half door

and bellied up to the bar for drag night.

On a hot June night in New Orleans,

party boys swaying and prancing wasn't our thing,

so we made a run for the door.

The Gold Mine was packed with people

as we writhed and shimmied in the heat

of a small crowded dance floor.

I tightened my worn tennis shoes,

foot on the brass rail of the bar,

and thought how great this night was.

Then we followed my tired but content feet

as they wandered back to dance some more.

Waiting For Spring

Drinking black coffee

out of a chipped stoneware mug

is one of the few things you left me,

that I really care to write about.

I am thinking how Mississippi Delta Jazz,

about New Orleans, and aligning

ribbons and name tags

on dress blue uniform jacket and shirt

in anticipation of a funeral service

probably isn't the best pick me up

on a lonely depressed day.

Outside a gentle breeze scuttled snow

across the barren ground.

Fresh clouds promise an inch or two more,

although the National Weather Service,

and the calendar declare winter over.

I don't think I will be

seeing blossoming flowers

and green grass anytime soon

on my cold brown dead lawn.

Last night's Spring showers froze

as soon as the raindrops

hit the earth.

I'm beginning to think

that the coldness outside

and the loneliness in my heart

may last another season.

I am drinking black coffee

out of a chipped stoneware mug.

Heartbreak is one of the few things you left me,

that I care to hang on to.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page