top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Four From The End (of a manuscripts)

Weather Vane


The weathercock spun

lazily upon a rusted rod,

obeyed wind's gentle prod.

Winking in the evening sun,

'long summer day is done.'

Above the barn's facade,

acted upon by God

the weathercock spun.


The black clouds rolled

and the breeze grew angry,

lightning flashed all around.

The weather cock stood bold,

and defiant for all to see.

"A little breeze won't knock me down."


--------------------------


Vultures and July Sky


July's heat and dazzling sun

penetrates car visor,

and dime-store sunglasses.

Sear the last bit of moisture

from my eyes.

I still have 517 miles to go

to be in my baby's arms.


Speedometer creeps up,

the gas gauge creeps down.

Flashing blue lights.

I missed the

Texas State Trooper

parked at the top

of an on ramp.


Million dollar smile.

Smokey Bear Hat.

Mirror shades.

Mini-cannon at his hip.

I am meek, scared, submissive.

A puppy dog, belly low.


No emergency sir,

just trying to get to New Orleans

before it gets too late.

Please sir,

I won't speed anymore.


Here is your ticket,

mail it in.

Any questions?


What kind of question

could I have,

a thousand miles from home,

daughter in the back seat,

that wouldn't end

with a vision of

the vultures that

circled in the desert sky.

July's heat and dazzling sun.


------------------------


Use Your Imagination


Use your imagination

when you go

dog walking on a foggy morn.


The mist in your eyes

and mud on your feet

could be from a walk

on quiet morning trails

outside of St. John's.


When you get home

don't get a cup of

coffee maker coffee,

but put the tea kettle on

like we did at your ma's house.


Instead of turning on

talk shows and dial in radio

put on a Great Big Sea CD

and dance like we used to

when the man upstairs

played the accordion.


As the fog rises from the land

imagine holding my hand,

wandering through St. John's,

on a cool spring day,

and praying our love

never went away.


---------------------


Upon The Tides


I wrote a long poem for you,

I detailed how you make me feel.

I sealed it in a plastic bottle

I cast it upon the outgoing tide.


I detailed how you make me feel.

I described full ruby red lips.

I explained the feel of soft skin.

I pointed out everything you were.


I sealed it in a plastic bottle.

I was sure my secrets were safe.

I thought this was really romantic.

I guess it was never solid or real.


I cast it upon the outgoing tide,

I hoped it would float to you.

I hoped to have you forever.

I lost you; a dream washed away.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page