top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

From A Calm Sea To A Chain Link Fence

Seas Calm And Fine


The seas were calm and fine

as I pushed the starter button

to power up my old boat again.

Slipping off ropes we headed out.


As I pushed the starter button

the way I had done many times

I thought how life followed tides;

a series of highs and lows.


To power up my old boat again,

was to power up my soul.

Running gear and rigging checks,

like blood pressure and pulse.


Slipping off ropes we headed out,

past seagulls on rocks and piers.

Harbor seals play in our wake,

fishing in the channel currents.


--------------------


Wilting



In the green fields where the mowers have gone the grass lies wilted. The flowers die in the hot sun. I think of them when you say you want to go away; crawl into bed and never wake. I find your smile and blue eyes hide too much; tears and fears and pain, behind a facade. Once the grass grew long and lush and the flowers perfumed the air in springtime. Once your words made my mornings and gave me reason to awaken to another day.

Now your sunshine has turned to clouds. Rain as tears roll down your sad face and I know not why. I pray for your smile to return to your face, your heart, your soul, and to me. In the green fields where the mowers have gone my love lies wilted. You are a flower dying in the hot sun.


-----------------


What About Now


I guess the tears will eventually dry

though they seem in endless supply.

Misty mornings and red-eyed nights,

make me wonder at my future.

I beg for a broken heart's cure,

and a rediscovery of life's delights.


Sadness clouds everything now,

skews my former rosy brow.

I would give all for a smiling mirror,

but the reflection moans in hurt,

my soul feels drug through dirt,

and love's healing is no nearer.


I admit I do tend to dramatize

when life brings tears to my eyes.

Though damaged, my body is alive.

I will throw my hat back into the ring,

and find another new ballad to sing.

This broken heart will still survive.


---------------------


Upon A Chain Link Fence


A sign hung upon a chain-link fence,

warns us of danger and death within.

A sign hung upon a chain-link fence;

poison, radiation, cancer, your burden hence.

In the name of security we created this sin,

to keep America from taking it on the chin.

A sign hung upon a chain-link fence.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page