top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Here Are Five Poems

Broken Mirrors


Every face I see in the shards

frowns silently back at me

as a reflection of what I see.


Death is dealt in the cards

handed and arranged silently

whispered in my ear sweetly.


Burial shrouds unroll in yards.

Our future is paved by the past

this love, this day may be our last.


No rhyme in my heart like a Bard's,

just tears and loneliness again.

Where is the love we knew back then?


Every face I see in the shards

frowns silently back at me

as a reflection of what I see.




















Coconuts


Light green orbs on trees; coconuts sway in the breeze far above my upturned face. Tropical rains make them grow. Winds push them to and fro at a slow steady island pace. When ripened they will fall, from their perches so tall to decorate the palms' base. We never worry about a freeze on our island in the South Seas. We live life at a relaxed pace. While others struggle with snow and sadly lament winter's woe, they imagine us in this place, coconuts the size of soccer balls, and listening to bright birds' calls. All of tropical life; coconut encased.




















Bumble Bee


"Hummmm, buzzzz, roar." here come a squadron; bees, a hundred or more, like B-52's, flying along. Bodies, yellow and black, bumble through springtime air, crystalline wings upon their back, pollen stuck in their hair. I marvel at their erratic flight and think of flower's bloom in a bright morning light spreading their perfume. A technological wonder, That they say are getting extinct. Long may bees thunder, a sight and sound distinct.



















Counterpoint To A Path To Freedom


From the shadows I watch you in silence. On the edge of a cliff peering at the valley below, I see you, feeling small, insignificant, and obsolete. From the shadows I watch you in silence, riding on the wings of a bird all alone and nearly hidden by clouds sailing by far below. From the shadows I watch you in silence, as you sit upon your throne of loneliness. I long to be among the people bowing and scraping. From the shadows I watch you in silence. I am the fields of spring. I am the grass. I am your everything, except your path to freedom.


Colonel Holman Mountain


I look out my window and see

they are building windmills

on Colonel Holman's Mountain.

I sometimes wonder what's next

for the wild state I cherish.


They are building windmills

and a fight is brewing

down on Congress Street

between the pure power people

and nature's sanctity spokesmen.


On Colonel Holman's Mountain

they carry signs and banners

saying "outsider's keep away,"

never knowing how he kept

the redcoat Burgoyne at bay.


I sometimes wonder what's next

when we refuse to change

and try new energy sources.

We still rape land wrestled

from those British forces.


For the wild state I cherish

has withstood attack before,

but when her people

fight so among themselves

it hurts that much more.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarii


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page