top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Here Are Some State And Travel Inspired Pieces

Harney Peak


I guess if the truth be told

I prefer Crazy Horse Monument

Down on Thunder mountain

to those four big presidential heads,

But I like the quiet dream times

I have spent on Harney Peak.


The wind blew softly through the pines

With a bite and chill

That reminded me,

no matter the calendar

Winter is never far off

Among these peaks.


I guess if the truth be told

I prefer Crazy Horse Monument

Down on Thunder mountain

to those four big presidential heads,

But I like the quiet dream times

I have spent on Harney Peak.


-------------------


Mount Mitchell


I have a folded and dirty map

of Mount Mitchell,

But I don’t know how to get there.

I have a folded map

Detailing normalcy

And I have no idea

How to get there

And why I search.


----------------


Timms Peak


There is a hill called ‘Timms’

In the land of cows and cheese.

Madison and Milwaukee

May be all you know,

Since Wisconsin seems flat.


Hill of moles or mountain,

I will let you decide.

Little Timms Hill,

Lives in Wisconsin.


Worn by everyday stress,

I came to Wisconsin to relax,

Seeking to hide from the hub-bub.

Cheese curd lunches helped,

On many a wander to Timms Hill,

Needing the ease of seclusion.

Saturday morning I sat atop

In the light of a brilliant sunrise,

Needing no higher peak.


-----------------


Spruce Knob


Spruce Mountain,

Pride of the West Virginia

Ridges of the Alleghenies,

Under clear blue skies,

Childlike and innocent

Elevates towards the heavens.


Knob’s whale-backed ridges,

North to south,

Only sixteen miles

Bring me home to West Virginia.


---------------------


Utah


How much further?


I was trying to think

What I knew about Utah

So I could tell my daughter tales

While driving through.

I know next to nothing

About Mormons,

Or Salt Lake City

So we drove in silence

Until we reached

Nevada, closer to California

And her dramatic departure

And reunited time

With her mother

And other family.


How much further?


-------------------


Vermont


Vermont


“Hey Emily, this is the green mountain state.”


It was,

And also the land

Of miles and miles

Of 45 mph and slower

Winding roads

That maddened me,

So in a passing zone

I wound the old Dodge up

To somewhere above 80,

Until a State Trooper,

Let me know a little

About law and order

And not endangering your child

While flying through

Vermont.


“Hey Emily, this is the green mountain state.”


---------------------


Virginia


Virginia


I was trying to think

Of something smart and clever

To write about my visit

To Virginia,

But then I realized

That life isn’t always fun

When your car

Gets vandalized

While parked in the dimly lit

Back lot

Of a cheap motel

In Virginia.


--------------


White Butte


White Butte,

High above the fields,

In the land of The Lakota

This is our mountain,

Eternally belonging to no one.


Butte is like the buffalo,

Untamed and untamable,

Trudging across the plane,

The Butte lasts forever;

Eternity belonging to no one.


-------------


Woodall Mountain


Way down in Mississippi

Over by that muddy river

On top of the hill we snuggled.

Doubting the title ‘mountain.’

At 806 feet

Little Woodall,

Like a beacon called us.


Made six feet taller,

Our seat on Jeep roof,

Under the stars,

Nearer the ghosts of that war,

Than to the modern world,

Aims at a long love.

In the Mississippi night,

No one loves Woodall like I love you.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page