top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

I Want To Tell You A Bit About Jean Lafitte, The Pirate

Jean Lafitte

Don’t call me “pirate.” I sail with 1000 men.

Your movie actors in Hollywood; megawatt smiles, betray their countrymen, move to France, because they don’t agree with war. I sail with 1000 men.

How can you be a pirate and not warrior. According to my code, “Coward” means death. I sail with 1000 men.

They call me Jean Lafitte. I am the best man on the Gulf Coast. I am The Buccaneer, The Hero of New Orleans. I sail with 1000 men.

While you read a script, pretend to sail, and steal, I am condemned and exonerated by your president. I sail with 1000 men.

I am loved by all, hated by those who fear me.

I sailed the Gulf of Mexico, in a leaking ship, and defeated the British in The Battle of New Orleans. I sail with 1000 men.

Don’t call me “pirate.” I am a privateer. I sail with 1000 men.

I invented economy in a new America that had naught. For thanks, I was branded “traitor” and reviled, though I saved you from your hated Motherland. I sail with 1000 men.

Now I am driven from your corrupted American shores, betrayed by a country that doesn’t know the difference between savior and satan. I spit on you. I sail with 1000 men.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page