top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

My Very Newest Poem

Dreaming of Trains


Every day I drive by the mill tracks,

And boxcars of paper rolls in stacks.

As it shuffles tankers of sludge and slurry,

I hear the old train wheels’ clickety clacks.


I watched diesel trains move along,

blunt featured, efficient and strong.

I wonder at all the romance sadly lost

Along tracks where old smokers belong.


I guess the environment paid the cost

of belching, dirty coal smoke exhaust,

but sparks flying and blackened plumes

make my railroad picture pretty, glossed.


I see switchyard engines blow oily fumes,

but wish I was relaxing in Pullman rooms.

I never outgrew railroad dreams I assume

as my boyhood hobo fantasy resumes.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page