top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

On A Warm August Afternoon...

I feel like sharing winter thoughts...


Winter Evening Outdoors


Winter evening outdoors;

I feel snowflakes

On my face,

Hear winter’s wind

Whipping in the treetops.

I long for

The warmth of spring rain;

Winter evening outdoors.


---------------


Fresh Snow


In the slow-coming post storm

Morning light I compare you

To tracks in the fresh snow.

I don’t love and I don’t hate,

But you are that intrusion

That disturbs my morning

Coffee and reading, a steady

Drip of a leaky faucet that

I should fix, but probably

Will leave on the to-do list

Until it becomes the kind of

That throbs like a toothache

Left too long unattended in

The slow-coming morning light.


---------


World Of Diamonds


The ocean was a 'World of Diamonds.'

That's what the gleaming poster

taped to the frosted window said.


A glowing white leviathan

cruise ship

placidly bobbed.

In an inset photo,

smiling bronzed children waved from

pristine sands.


In small print:

'For $2300, plus the price of

an airline ticket to Miami,

you and a partner can soon enjoy

the tropical sights of beautiful

Trinidad and Tobago.'


I kicked dirty snow and ice

off my insulated boots,

unzipped my jacket

and loosened my scarf

while shuffling past the travel agency,

further into the mall.


Anywhere

but this frigid wasteland

would be nice now.


The ocean was a 'World of Diamonds.'

That's what the poster said.


--------------


Frozen Tuesday


Wind chills are still well below zero

Shaking, we wonder at the news.

What do the warming experts say

when thermometer mercury disappears?


Shaking, we wonder at the news.

Al Roker is laughing and grinning

saying, "bundle up Atlanta! brrrr!"

Atlanta? What about this ice box?


What do the warming experts say

on the coldest day since 1956?

Is it some phenomenon or fluke

or are our old gauges at fault?


When thermometer mercury disappears

we talk about ice ages, vacations,

and say, "cold enough for you yet?"

Then we wander forth, cursing winter.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários

Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page