top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Some Christ Inspired Christmas Words

2008; Years Later


You have your holidays

I have my Holy Days.

Somehow the meanings

got scrambled as they often do.

The spirit of so many things

we celebrate seem to

have been lost over the years.


You raise your flag

for Independence Day

and demand we stand

as a country.

"Don't take my rights away!"

But what do you do

when the Lord calls to you

on Easter and Christmas Day.

Do you kneel and pray

or slowly turn away?


By all means enjoy

with family friends, loved ones,

but remember the reason

for the season

and center your celebration

around the Man of the cross.

You have your holidays

I have my Holy Days.


“And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.”

-Luke 22:19 (KJV)


----------------


On CHRISTmas Morning


On Christmas morning

if The Lord came calling

would you keep Him out,

make Him walk on by

because you were busy?


If The Lord came calling

would you shoo him away,

while you opened gifts

or watched football

with family and friends?


Would you keep Him out,

no time for His company,

wrapped up in greed

and wanting more,

searching for the perfect gift.


Make Him walk on by.

"How dare you disturb us

as we celebrate together.

Don't you know

How important family is?"


Because you were busy

you didn't teach your children

the meaning of the day.

What did you show them

when you sent Christ away?


Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”

-Revelation 3:20 (KJV)


---------------


Nollaig Shona Duit -Merry Christmas


My candle says, “Lord you are welcome here.”

In County Cork where mother’s people still dwell

they stand strong for the Lord while the rest of the world

slowly, steadily creeps away from Him.

From every house, mansion or hovel, a red candle shows

to welcome the Holy Family should they come to pass.

For all believe, on Christmas Eve each year,

Joseph, Mother Mary, and the Christ Child wandered the earth,

searching to see if there is any more human kindness,

the spirit of welcome more present

then on that winter’s night in Bethlehem two centuries ago.

My candle says, “Lord you are welcome here.”


My candle says, “Lord you are welcome here.”

Little Mary light the candle and place it in the window,

For it is Christmas Eve and we must welcome our friends,

Saint Nicholas and wayward heavenly travelers.

The little lights shining through the glass

shows a welcome for all who shall pass

in this season of love and giving.

We pray that we are found worthy

in your heavenly eyes on Christmas day.

My candle says, “Lord you are welcome here.”

Lord, you are welcome here!


And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.”

-Luke 2:7 (KJV)



-------------


More Christmas Memories


The green of pine Christmas trees,

glowing lights of red and white,

intertwining popcorn strings

on the top, a star’s light sings;

Sweet memories I recall.


Glowing lights of red and white,

Reflected upon new fallen snow,

Making children smile so bright.

See how their amazed eyes glow.

Sweet memories I recall.


Intertwining popcorn strings,

Small handcrafted ornaments,

Grandma’s handed down things.

These make me smile; content.

Sweet memories I recall.


On the top, a star’s light sings;,

Helps me remember the reason.

It isn’t for material things,

But for He who made the season.

Sweet memories I recall.


Sweet memories I recall,

When I think of childhood

Christmas trees so tall.

Thank you, Lord, all is good!

Sweet memories I recall.


“Saying, Where is He that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen His star in the east, and are come to worship Him.”

-Matthew 2:2 (KJV)


-------------


Christmas Celebrations


Putting the "Christ" back in Christmas,

will make the holiday unsurpassed.

Thank God for the gift of His only Son.

Celebrate the birth of The Chosen One,

who came to wash away your sins.

He who hoards the most doesn't win,

but he who knows where charity begins

and shares the love he was shown in the past.

Holiday celebrations should never be done,

and all gifts shared with a cheerful grin.


“Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.”

-2 Corinthians 9:7 (KJV)


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page