top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Some Ellis Poems


Memories And Photos


Someday I will fade

Just like a photograph in one of those books you keep:

A distorted memory; there but forgotten.

Memories and photos look at me from a stack of old books

Brought to visit by a new and dear friend

Who provides things needed that I dare

Not ask directly for

Like Vitamin D and new surgical scrub pants

Which I quickly make old

In a hot and busy kitchen

Where I give my daily pound of flesh

And pints

Of blood sweat and tears.

Someday I will fade

Just like a photograph in one of those books you keep:

A distorted memory; there but forgotten.

I imagine old Browning and Kodak Cameras

Set in wide dirt streets,

And stuffy portrait studios

Where the men and ladies

In Sunday finery sit still

And uncomfortable

As a man

With his head under a cloth

Slowly counts the seconds

And minutes

Of picture perfection.

Someday I will fade

Just like a photograph in one of those books you keep:

A distorted memory; there but forgotten.

The old dirt roads

And dusty streets

Are horse-hoof pounded

And wagon wheel

Pounded into my imagination

And somewhere in a distant memory

A few words from Pete McKenna

Try to wander to

The forefront of my mind,

But the truth be known,

I was a poor student

So I don’t remember

Streets and dates

From 8th grade history.

Someday I will fade

Just like a photograph in one of those books you keep:

A distorted memory; there but forgotten.

I try to focus

Like that old photographer

Holding up a pan

Of flash powder

Ready to capture your magic

In one beautiful portrait,

But I am only left

With blurry slides

And images

That keep slipping away

Like the ice

In the corner of a

Sun warmed puddle

Or the tears

Slowly drying…

Someday I will fade

Just like a photograph in one of those books you keep:

A distorted memory; there but forgotten.

Kimberly Williams

As a muse you are beautiful and endearing.

As a person you make me sad

And I guess I just need to make the choice,

Because God knows I don't need to be sad.

I was sad for years and years.

Sometimes life hands you misery

Then God hands you a keen axe

And lets you think you have battled

Alone through hell and back.

I am never super sad anymore,

As long as I cry when no one is looking.

I break down for brief moments,

That's about it though.

I convince myself I wield my own ax.

I don't have to wonder

What keeps the blade sharp and clean.

Good thing that in your weakest moments

You are still stronger than me.

In your weakest moment,

Stronger than most, it seems to be

Kimberly Williams says she still loves me

Like an old poem, poorly written

Upon dog-eared paper; no Poe for sure.

I still love her too, though admitting

Sometimes dulls the concept of God Axe;

Double-bladed and infallible.

On a North Dakota day,

I still wish times were simple;

I once lived two frozen trailer lots away.

If I only had a broke back single shot 12 gauge,

I could cure this addiction,

But my laptop is dying so I must bid you adieu!

Thank you for the company

But as a shoulder provided,

These old memories provide more pain than solace.

I have miles to go before I sleep,

Dreams of a past without futures,

And axes to grind that I must keep...

Dakota 2011

There is a little red flag

hanging from my dirty screen door.

When the water went down

the FEMA man said

I couldn't stay anymore.

I'm turning lights out

as I light out it seems

to the never promised land;

of broken American dreams.

The creaking slamming door

of a rundown camper

defies my thoughts and musings;

smiles and sun to hamper.

I arrived at this dream

before I awoke yesterday in this land

of too many tomorrows;

kindness destroyed by a shaking hand.

We saw the water coming down rivers,

over earthen berms and dikes

and through the city streets.

A rain hammer doesn't care what it strikes.

Flood predictions came and went.

The final bell tolled as the gavel rang down

and still more water rolled in,

surely the city would drown,

"...dead...yes dead...and it shall be not proud..."

There is a little red flag

hanging from my dirty screen door.

When the water went down

the FEMA man said

I couldn't stay anymore.

I'm turning lights out

as I light out it seems

to the never promised land;

another broken American dream.

Kimi told me to try

sitting with bare feet in sand

drinking wine and watching the moon

painting oceans and land.

While children sleep dreamlessly

in the peaceful breeze of the cooling night,

we plot survival and salvation

bathed in a painted Dakota twilight.

Remember when we let

our mind wander to the places

Faulkner and Hemingway drove us

with smiles on their faces.

Some concepts can only be felt on nights like this;

back sore from removing drywall

and tearing out floor joists,

fearful of winter's early fall.

There is a little red flag

hanging from my dirty screen door.

When the water went down

the FEMA man said

I couldn't stay anymore.

I'm turning lights out

as I light out it seems

to the never promised land;

another broken American dream.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page