top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Some From The Sea

In The Smoke Of A Distant Fire


The greasy smoke touched sky

from the council fires by the river.

In lodges the hungry babies cry,

looked down upon by Life Giver.

Rifles and arrows placed in quiver

as the warriors stand battle ready.

Awaiting the dawn's light I shiver,

holding my gray horse steady.

I carefully target and let lead fly,

not sure why these people must die.




























In Blue


A picture not yet taken,

Lying upon a soft flower blanket

Of baby blue

I see you.


Your smile

Makes the camera wish

To keep you forever.

I smile back.


It amazes me

How your face

Has been imprinted on my mind

Since the day we met.


Yes, I opened up my heart

Sometimes I wish for more

Control over my feelings,

As I hunger for you.


Someday I may forget,

Like deleting images,

Off a digital camera,

And your face will fade.


But today,

In this warm place

I am picturing the love

We could have made.


A picture not yet taken,

Lying upon a soft flower blanket

Of baby blue

Is how I chose to see you.




If Time Breaks Down


Tick, tick, ticking.

If time breaks down,

and all the watches,

shudder to a stop,

leaving us with silence

where their maddening ticking

should be,

will we crave the sound

we imagine would drive us mad

like the tell-tale heart

of a Poe poem of old?


Tick, tick, ticking.

At a quarter past midnight

in the obsidian black,

with a clock creeping

slowly toward the witching hour,

sleepless we await the end,

of sleeplessness,

and hate the

monotonous sound,

so like a beating heart.


Tick, tick, ticking.

I imagine it is no less

comforting for a bomb technician

to count down

minutes and seconds,

knowing that as the hands

inch closer to midnight,

or high noon,

that an end does not bring comfort,

but an end, nonetheless.





Tick, tick, ticking.

The clock's steady,

irritating pulse

mocks me as I lay here.

I wonder if anything is on TV,

besides infomercials

and advertisements for sleep aids

and comfortable mattresses.

Perhaps I will read a bit,

the final chapters in

the Dark Tower saga await.


Tick, tick, ticking.

If time breaks down,

and all the watches,

shudder to a stop,

leaving us with silence

where their maddening ticking

should be,

will we crave the sound

we imagine would drive us mad

or will we finally,

eternally sleep?


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page