top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Some Monday Poems


Wildflowers


The wildflowers I have known

slowly growing in the fertile soil

of my raw and untamed mind

make me see the colors of love.

Slowly growing in the fertile soil

are all the dreams of perfect days

and warm evenings on the beach.

Love blooms from smaller seeds.

Of my raw and untamed mind,

only vague memories exist,

replaced by splendor and green.

Spring's hope is eternal they say.

Make me see the colors of love,

or let me continue to dream.

If perfection lasts through dawn:

the wildflowers I have known.


Crushed Roses


She pulled a pressed rose from the Book of Luke’s pages.

These pale and flattened flowers bloomed once upon a time.

Now the colors are muted and the scent has long since diminished.

The petals once soft and flesh like lie flat, saddened; neglected.

These dried flowers are stories of yesterday, slumbering today.

These pale and flattened flowers bloomed once upon a time,

When life and love and memories were young and new,

Even though they each correspond to a love one lost,

Whose name is carefully printed and followed with dates,

Birth and death separated with the small dash of a lifespan.

Now the colors are muted and the scent has long since diminished.

The old family Bible though well thumbed, mended, and dog eared

Now sits neglected in a dusty old storage space in a ramshackle garage

Collecting dust and missing a family who wander the world,

Daily further away from crushed roses and Jesus’ Word.

The petals once soft and flesh-like lie flat, saddened; neglected.

These dried flowers are stories of yesterday, slumbering today,

Making me wonder how tomorrow will be if we put aside the past

In an old family farmhouse, a lonely widow woman’s tears slowly dried.

She placed a rose to save in the Book of Luke’s pages.


Lights In The Sky


There are lights out there to the Northwest,

I think it is one of those flying wedges,

whatever they call those fast moving planes.

I think it is a modified flying saucer.

I once saw a UFO, but really it was a ski resort.

I think it is one of those flying wedges

From somewhere in the middle of the earth,

That strange portal into the earth,

Or back to the skies beyond the stars;

Inner and outer space mixed together.

Whatever they call those fast moving planes

That seem part black ops and part sci fi

Was waiting just beyond the hills

In the high desert of southern California

And I had no idea how long it hovered.

I think it is a modified flying saucer,

Not the disc or cigar shaped ones

I grew up loving and fearing

Reading about in ratty novels

And bright crudely drawn comics.

I once saw a UFO, but really it was a ski resort,

Or so they told me; those military guys

Whose job it is to tell you

What you really see by mistake

When you see lights in the sky.


Vessel


Loose lips sink ships,

And I am trying to find the bottom

Of this endless cup of coffee,

To see if the flecks leftover

From a filter bowl

That didn’t quite seat

In the worn out Bunn O Matic

Have left a message for me.

Like so many tea leaves,

Why can’t coffee dregs

Predict the future?

Loose lips sink ships.


The News


Saturday’s headlines spoke to me:

America has a new 'rat capital.’ New York isn’t the star!

A Florida woman realizes she left child in hot car!

Business owner claims cops accused him of breaking into his own store (because he's black)!

Air Force fighter intercepts plane near Trump NJ golf course and successfully turned it back!

More headlines for all to see:

Ritz crackers and other products recalled after salmonella found!

Tiger Woods falls just short of sensational victory in final round!

California woman guilty of killing dog, throwing animal from parking garage roof!

Man, punched in the face in New York City attack captured on video as a ‘goof!’

5 minutes of headlines make me fear my tv.


Night Owl


Woooo woooo hoooo

The sounds of the resident owl

In the big hollow

Of the Boo Radley oak

that grows right outside my balcony

Calls in the quiet of a dark night

Amid the clattering blades of the

Mercy flight helicopters that are

Following a back and forth flight

From tragedy to triage in the trauma unit

Of a hospital two blocks away.

I bet the people

(who I silently pray for)

Strapped on backboards

With oxygen masks

And heavy bandages

Wish they could fly away

Of their own free will,

Like the sleepy old owl

Their death delaying machines

Are keeping from his slumber.


Al Hager


I will always run with you

in rain or under skies blue

but not because of your loss.

When I was your boss

and you just another kid

trying to do what I did,

I saw you were smart

and did more than your part

fixing 40 year old airplanes well.

At maintenance you did excel.

You live life without excuse

cheerful despite fortune's abuse.

Family, friends, and loved ones

you stick by your guns

to protect and keep safe

always a smile on your face.

Others have an easier lot

but you complain not.

It can't be easy losing a leg

but for mitigation you don't beg.

You taught me so much;

that self-pity is a crutch,

with no place in a man's life.

Your beautiful child and wife

are proud of who you are;

the guiding light shining far.

Allen, I love you as a brother.

You have strength like no other.

Having grown since our early days

your mighty character stays.

Knowing you has improved me too.

I will always run with you

in rain or under skies blue

but not because of your loss.


Apple Sauce


"Daddy can you cut the crust off my sandwich?"

Crust cut off?

Her mom must have taught her that!

Bread without crust is like

applesauce without cheese,

which is like a hug without a squeeze.

It must have been three decades ago,

maybe two, surely not four.

I wandered back

the way some simple things

make me do.

Have you ever been

crab apple picking?

"Get a bucket of them."

"Don't get the ones with worms."

"Biggest ones you can find."

"Don't take all day."

Sliced with peelings on

chopped in half

boiled in a big pot

on the back of

a red hot wood stove

while we sweat in the kitchen

washing canning jars

for winter preserves.

Push down hard,

smash the apples through.

Add cinnamon and a little sugar.

Better than store bought.

Better than anything

given to you.

The sweat

and work to do it yourself.

makes apple sauce sweeter.

With a slice of government cheese,

the apple sauce was better

than any other dessert to me.


A Wild Goose Chase


When I was a child

the sky would darken

with flocks of ducks and geese

on the way north or south

depending on the season.

Canadians and Snows,

Mallards and Pins

winged their way past.

Glorious V's rent

the air with powerful beats.

Left in their wake

I watched for

the occasional

fluffy chest

or stiff wing feather

to drift down.

Last summer,

on a warm cloudy day

Emily and I

drove down to the

Minot Zoo.

We looked at grizzly bears

and spider monkeys

before we headed across

the Souris River Bridge

to see domestic animals enclosed

in the other half of the park.

On the path by the buffalo pen

was a toddling boy

following a scurrying goose

with one dragging wing.

"Daddy can we take him home?"

little Emily asked.

"No he's wild and should be free."

"Looks like he's stuck here

with the rest of the animals to me."


Big Brown Truck


When I see a big brown truck rolling by

I think of generosity and Christmas time,

a mug of cocoa and snowflakes in the sky.

As all American as a slice of apple pie,

memories of knitted hats in patterns sublime

when I see a big brown truck rolling by.

Each year my grandma knitted a supply,

warm clothing for grandkids without a dime,

a mug of cocoa and snowflakes in the sky.

She would smile, a sparkle in her blue eyes.

I think wearing store bought items a crime

when I see a big brown truck rolling by.

We opened Christmas gifts with a content sigh;

bright yarns of orange, red, green, and lime

a mug of cocoa and snowflakes in the sky.

I miss my dear grandma, but I don't cry.

I wish I could thank her for gifts divine

when I see a big brown truck rolling by,

a mug of cocoa and snowflakes in the sky.


Christmas Chaos


There was chaos at my house over the holidays

bows flying, colored paper ripping, dogs barking,

kitty hissing, baking smells, and Emily laughing.

It all blends together into a sweet, sweet haze.

The season after Thanksgiving started ever so slow;

four more long weeks of mind numbing work and toil

mixed with visits planned and cards to sign and send.

New Year dawned in a deep pile of wind blown snow.

My daughter came from sunny California to visit

only to find frigid temperatures and a gale blowing.

We cuddled and embraced mugs of hot cocoa,

but the quiet pause only lasted for a minute!

Soon the house was again a swirl of movement,

like a mini tornado or sea spout whirling around,

quickly spreading holiday cheer instead of sadness.

I think this is what 'Joy to the World' really meant!


Dark Days And Theft Of A Dusky Symbol


I wonder at dark days and theft,

when I hear a story from my coastal home

of what is taken, and what is left.

Would they take a bald man's comb?

They stole the carved crow

off the Crow Tracks business sign pole.

Why? I am sure I don't know

does it make them feel whole?

Down on Water Street in Eastport.

the sign hangs bare now,

with no customers to court,

the owner wants to start a row.

Somewhere a 15-inch long

black wooden crow waits,

ready to sound his coarse song

in this town of fishermen and bait.

A broken dowel on a pole remains

where once the bird stood

in snows and summer rains,

remnants of the statue made of wood.

The police were called and took pictures

and stood chin scratching;

not providing society's illness cures,

just wishing they had ideas hatching.

I pray the crow flies home soon,

replaced by repentant vandals,

perhaps by the light of the moon.

In small towns theft makes large scandals.

I wonder at dark days and theft,

when I hear a story from my coastal home

of what is taken, and what is left.

Would they take a bald man's comb?


Dreaming Of Trains


A young boy's dreams of riding rails

are steadily fed with stories and tales.

Grown, engines cease their steam song;

slowly the vision of wandering derails.

I watched diesel trains move along,

blunt featured, efficient and strong.

I wonder at all the romance sadly lost

upon tracks where the smokers belong.

I guess the environment paid the cost

of belching, dirty coal smoke exhaust,

but sparks flying and blackened plumes

make my railroad picture pretty, glossed.

I see switchyard engines blow oily fumes,

but wish I was relaxing in Pullman rooms.

I never outgrew railroad dreams I assume

as my boyhood hobo fantasy resumes.


Elephant Mountain


"Watch out for that ice!"

"View sure is nice."

"Wait until we get to the top,

plenty of time to stop."

"I am a little cold."

The north wind was bold

as we climbed Elephant Mountain

north of Rangeley, Maine.

My brother Digger and I

under a crystal blue sky

were on a treasure quest,

without gold in a chest.

We looked for antlers dropped.

Where the trail stopped

we parked our snowmobile,

put on shoe spikes of steel,

and started up a game trail,

alongside an abandoned mine rail.

Poking through deer bed downs,

nothing here on the ground

except the trampled rent snow,

left behind by buck or doe.

We stopped by a blow-down,

for a drink and to sit down.

Digger's dented thermos cup

full of coffee we drank up.

My cold feet I began to stamp.

"Guess we better head for camp."

We climbed back on the sled,

following the trail laid ahead.

Down Elephant Mountain we flew.

This treasure did we accrue,

time spent as brothers,

better than gold and all others!


Fireflies


I can tell you from experience

fireflies don't taste as sweet

as their color would indicate

but if you sample them just right

tasting them will get you a date.

I can tell you from experience

that teen boys craving attention

will try to do just about anything

to get a girl to look their way,

when emotions jump like springs.

I can tell you from experience

that two fireflies on a tongue

don't light up your entire face,

but leave an acrid residue,

that even water won't chase.

I can tell you from experience

that a sweet kiss lasts long

and there is magic in hugs.

Mostly though my memory carries

the taste of dirty fluorescent bugs.


Grandma Knitted Love


My grandma made mittens

and sewed flannel underwear,

soft as new baby kittens.

Upon our heads, often bare

she placed hats with pom pom

hand crafted with great care.

In a time not so far gone,

these gifts were made of gold,

powerful as muscle and brawn.

Colorful checkers and bold

kept us protected from cold.


In A Quiet House


In the silent morning

with no television,

the only light comes from

ice fog-bound

sodium arcs

penetrating the crack

between thick curtains.

I sit with coffee and dreams

remembering the past

and contemplating

the future

that begins

with one more sip

and solemn vows.

Here in the quiet

of a sleeping house

where even puppies

still lie abed,

I muse on the perfection

of morning,

life, and love.

Smiles,

like fleeting moments,

come and go

upon soft breaths

as I think of my love

and how a gentle word

makes a beautiful day.

"Baby, wake up."

"Do you need a ride

to work?"

"I want to tell you something."

"I love you."

"Have a great day."

Warm hugs in a quiet house.


Kathy Sutton


I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

When I seemed to have no friends,

you were there to make amends

and assure I wasn't left all alone.

I think of you now that I am grown.

If there are truly angels who see,

I am thankful you were there for me.

Kathy, I can never hope to repay

the caring you continue to display.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

Books to read and paper and pens,

small treat and other odds and ends

are things I remember you did bring.

Mostly seeing you smile made me a king.

I looked forward to your frequent call,

praying your schedule would stall,

giving more moments of your golden light

which to me always shined so bright.

Kathy, you truly are a savior to me.

I thank God for you on bended knee.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

Some would say it was your job,

dismiss my musing with a head bob,

but they didn't see your warm heart,

wisdom and life lessons you did impart.

I am a better man for things you gave.

Over years, these warm memories I save;

a collection of books of outsiders murmurs

and a hopeful thought whatever occurs.

Kathy, I know God must smile upon you,

and clap His hands at the good you still do.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.


River Of Rain


She stands alone in a river of rain;

same tears and pain again, again.

Where does the promised love go

when these lonely tears flow?

Once upon her face a brave smile,

but Lord above, it has been awhile.

Is she left closer to death's blow

when these lonely tears flow?

My tender words have worn thin,

a whitewash that barely covers sin.

Her pain again starts to show

when these lonely tears flow.


The Green Tree Waits


A green tree stands in the corner

with synthetic branches fluffed,

waiting for lights and bulbs

to be hung by a child's hand

and plugged in by mom and dad.

With synthetic branches fluffed,

shaped, and bent, the illusion

is complete. No Charlie Brown affair,

but a living breathing testament;

soon it will be Christmas day!

Waiting for lights and bulbs,

the old tree snoozes patiently.

We slowly built a mountain,

wrapped gifts at his feet;

colorful boxes and bags.

To be hung by a child's hand

are golden stars and angels,

mini sleighs and snowflakes,

resting in soft tissue cocoons.

They have slumbered all year.

"And plugged in by mom and dad?

Are you serious, I am almost 12!"

How quick our precious little girl

has grown over the few months

the green tree waited in the corner.


The House That Built Me


Some say it is just wood and nails

crafted together with strong hands.

A keen mind with vision sees it through.

Plaster and paint complete a home.

With a final polish, a family moves in.

Crafting together with strong hands,

a level that was half a bubble off,

and old boards carefully chosen

from the Thornton Brothers' yard,

father built our family home.

A keen mind with vision sees it through.

You have to have the right start,

and a powerful and caring heart.

They say when they talk of life,

"strong foundations build strong men."

Plaster and paint complete a home,

but it is the love and charity

of the dwellers that make unity.

If not we are left with a collection,

a facade with opaque windows.

With a final polish, a family moves in,

like we did so many years ago.

It wasn't a mansion it's true,

but father built it to withstand,

that old house that built me.


A Folder Of Love


My love for you was left in a blue folder

upon a coffee table next to your sofa-sick bed

under two boxes of Oreo's and a carton of 2 percent milk

that had ridden in the front seat of my car

until just the right time, awaiting feet-sweeping

and soul baring.

I dance with my toes in the fire of emotion.

I penned a sonnet or maybe open-ended

and unrhymed heart-pained words

in an outpouring of haphazard and confused emotions.

I didn't know if you would read, or hear or feel,

so I kissed your blanket-warmed brow

and silently stole away.

I dance with my toes in the fire of emotion.

Would I live or love another day

or forever hunger for your words

and gentle kisses?

I seem to have spent a lifetime, lifeless,

and a smattering of love affairs, loveless.

Am I to deny friends

and end up friendless

because I lust for yet another taboo?

I dance with my toes in the fire of emotion.

My heart is again broken yet seamless,

a poem like bit of fluff torn from the sleeve

of my existence where it continually resides.

I wish the frost at your core would thaw,

melting ice dripping, dripping dripping,

a maddening sound of spring coming,

destroying the hell of winter once and for all.

I dance with my toes in the fire of emotion.

I am waiting the crash of symbols

or the tolling of a bell

as the litmus test of your feelings;

bearing a chad-edged and lined paper

written with a number two pencil;

I love you. Do you love me?

Check yes or NO,

and so it goes:

My love for you was left in a blue folder

upon a coffee table next to your sofa-sick bed.


Another Battle


Like a warrior home from his last battle,

I piled dented shield and dulled sword

in an old dusty and locked room,

where only memories and loneliness rattle.

"I will fight no more, forever," upon my lips.

To love no more was once my master plan.

Scars upon my heart would heal in time.

There were no more dragons to slay,

no more maidens to steal across the land.

I will love no more, forever," upon my lips.

I lay alone in the dark shadow of a lover's moon

destined to remain a lonely, unbeaten warrior .

Oft offered heart slowly hardened, calcified,

"Maybe it will stop beating, and none too soon.

I will know pain no more, forever," upon my lips.

One day into my life a young beauty wandered,

peering, through the long unused keyhole

that lead into my carefully secured soul.

Slowly, as awakened from a dream, I pondered,

"I wonder if this is the end of forever," upon my lips.

I lifted door bars and disengaged rusted latches

slowly, carefully widening the oak-hewn door

that had been my heart's savior and salvation.

Could this be one of Cupid's unexpected matches;

"I will love you forever," upon our lips.


Faded Blue Ribbon


Just another knot

in that old blue ribbon.

That is what you are,

memories tied to me.

I met you on an island,

so cliche and true.

Southern Pacific fun,

and surf pounded lust

are memories far behind.

Just a frayed band,

lightened by sun and strife,

you are the old ribbon

tied to my heart.

In your ebon tresses

was knotted a ribbon bright,

Against the darkness,

you were a light.

You live in a land

that is perpetual summer.

I was destined to desert you

in favor of the cold comforts

that are my home.

But I took something

besides woven thread

with a single black hair

found in an empty

car seat.

I carry your memory

through decades

and thousands of miles,

your present

is my present

clouded in our past.

On cold winter days

when I pray for the weak rays

of a dormant sun,

I pull the past out

and slip into the comfort

of your embrace.

I cast fact aside

like the relationship

we could have had

and relive a month

of lust and heat.

Just another knot

in that old blue ribbon.

That is what you are,

memories tied to me.


Halacy’s Field And Football


"Down!"

"Set!"

"Hike!"

The leather ball slapped hard into my hands

from my cousin Robert's hand-off.

I waved for him to go long...

"Further...further!"

My wobbled spiral throw

was timed for his quick feet

to run back across the knee-high timothy.

He leaped over the white-faced granite rock

that marked the pitcher's mound

when we played baseball,

and landed perfectly, ready to rush.

Head down, stout legs pumping,

he was again the young bull

who I charged through boyhood with.

Toward the goal line Robert led the race.

Across clover and vetch

to the gravel where Lester Lapham's

abandon tin trailer squatted he sprinted.

Hard on his heels in a stumbling run

was cousin Kamala and the Halacy boys

who were sure to bring him down

short of the heel-dug goal line.

Mike grabbed a handful of red t-shirt.

"Ripppppp," went 12 dollars worth of Sears thread.

"Touchdown we win!"

"Bobby, when your mom finds out you are dead!"

Shoulders were shrugged as we lined up again.

It was understood that he could blame me;

somewhat of a family trouble maker, you see.

As the late afternoon shadows grew long

we demanded one final turn carrying the ball,

dreaming we were destined to be stars, all.

The leather ball slapped hard into Robert's hands

from my short throw.

He waved me to go long...

"Further...further!"

Fast and low,

on and on we go,

outrunning adulthood.

"Down!"

"Set!"

"Hike!"


Life Is Her Library


The ghosts of 2004

are rattling around her door

as she sits cross-legged

on the cold tile floor.

Life changes is the belief,

time stolen from a thief,

but she mourns comforts

found upon printed leaf.

She grew up in a library

with vaulted ceilings, airy

far away from this adulthood

on the frozen prairie.

Now away from the ink-ridden page,

where life is like a stage

she shivers with chill,

loneliness, boredom, and rage.

The dusty floor reminds her

of the smell of books.

Funny how the mind can transfer

a memory so demur.

Ashlyn unfolds from the floor,

and heads for the door.

Anyone raised on a diet of books

will never be poor.

A smile slowly comes near,

casting out loneliness and fear.

The answer is in a book

that much is clear.

The ghosts of her past

are vanquished at last

as she passes checkout desk,

looks at shelves of volumes massed.


Mariner


Like the ancient mariner

trapped by the seas I sail on.

Even though life is tough

and I scream into the wind,

"Enough is enough!

I will continue on;

same words, same song.

A bruised and battered heart,

is sleeve-pinned for all to see.

Another forever torn apart,

that is once more my life,

cleaved with keen-edged knife.

Upon these seas I drift,

no sure hand at helm.

The current is not swift,

but I move onward,

loneliness, just another word.

Days turn to nights,

and I feel better,

here away from harbor lights.

Outward, and away I go,

better for my soul I know.

I shall dry tears

and hope for the best.

it is easy to forget fears

and open my heart again,

but I don't know when.

The wind makes rigging creak,

but thankfully every breeze

does not her name speak.

I shall return to shore,

looking for love once more.

Like the ancient mariner

trapped by the seas I sail on.


Storming Down A Mountain


In a roller coaster-like world I traverse

rocky mountaintops and wide valleys.

Screaming down slippery slopes

I make my own trails, a moss-less stone

with no seat belt, no crash helmet.

Rocky mountaintops and wide valleys

are splattered with forest and shadows,

yet devoid of the crystal lakes

that would make romantic picnics.

Here I dwell with no rest, pell-mell.

Screaming down slippery slopes

upon the splintered steel

of ungoverned, wasted skis,

I have the berserk finesse

of a bare-chested madman.

I am the moss-less rolling stone;

gathering bits and pieces of life,

while shedding the skin of illusion.

We are what we are as they say;

the things our parents warned us of.

With no seat belt, no crash helmet;

remember when life was that simple,

our own forefathers and dear mother's

survived to beget this generation

of political correctness and avarice.


Surrounded By Simplicity


When every day is surrounded

by airplanes and traffic and industry

it is hard to remember mother nature

and how the simple things really matter.

The wind gossiping with the trees

tells the tales of life and memory.

When every day is surrounded

by hubbub and confusion and speed

a drink from a cold stream might help

bring me back to a boyhood evening

chasing those fluorescent bugs

like a kid with a mason jar.

When every day is surrounded

by adulthood and restrictive rules,

and there is no more than black and white,

maybe those fireflies are really fairies

and "what if" is all the explanation

pure magic really needs.

When every day is surrounded

and wrapped in a need for productivity,

I still believe in hugs and smiles.

Kisses on bruises should fix all.

We all need to give a little more of each.

Who knew simplicity could be so wonderful?

When every day is surrounded

by airplanes and traffic and industry

it is hard to remember mother nature

and how the simple things really matter.

The wind gossiping with the trees

tells tales of life and warm memories.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page