top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Some States And Mountains

Here are a few poems I have written about travels here in the United States:


Missouri


My geography teacher told me

It was shaped like a boot.

So was Italy as I later recalled,

Somewhere on a hot evening;

Out of gas and patience

Up near Independence.

Red-skied evening blinds.

Italy seems a far off dream.


------------


Minnesota


Minnesota


My map of Minnesota

Is folded and creased,

Narrow pencil lines follow

Northerly routes and roads.

Easing into St. Paul,

Sunday morning suns

Outline skyscrapers,

Trailer trucks, dirty air

And that muddy old river.


10,000 lakes are far away!


-------------


Maine


Even vacationers need a vacation.

I looked out my front window

Upon the blessings of a fall day

And wonder why

We call it “Vacationland.”


My world is defined by four seasons,

Autumn is my favorite I guess.

I love all those falling leaves,

Needlessly piled on the lawn.

Even vacationers need a vacation.


------------------


Louisiana




Eastern sunrise breaks

Far away in dream land.


Little did I know

Our brief time together

Under a Louisiana sun,

Inhabiting each other’s space

Should become a fantasy

I never want to wake from.

Another Louisiana day

Now stretches before me,

Another Louisiana day.


Eastern sunrise breaks

Far away in dream land.


-------------


Michigan


We wandered to the UP

when you were a baby;

Nature, nature everywhere,

Like a cliche postcard.


Sometimes I look back,

When I am lost and alone.

My mind travels,

To where I went wrong.


Was it a proverbial

Wrong turn

Or a falling out

That made me single?


One day your mom

Loaded you and suitcases

Into a 1992 Ford Taurus

And drove away.


We wandered to the UP

when you were a baby,

Nature, nature everywhere,

Like a cliche postcard.


---------------





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page