top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Starting Spring Tides

Woundology


I keep my collection of wounds

covered with the band-aids of experience.

Some are small and mostly healed

barely leaving a small mar

upon my exterior.

Some go much deeper

creating tunnels and gouges

deep into my heart and soul.

My core penetrated,

slowly I began to mend,

flesh knitted, sewn.

Dissolvable stitches

or black thread

neatly sewn over punctures

is how I remember you.

Sometimes I seek

one more cut,

bruise or bump.

They say you bleed

just to know

you are still alive.

I know I live

because I feel

the itch of flesh healing

and I go on.

I keep my collection of wounds

covered with the band-aids of experience.




With Ink Of Gold


The angels who write

on the purest parchment

with inks of gold

are writing his name

in the stars.


Today I miss

an old friend.


Larry was a poet

from Kansas.

A mere writer,

one of many

he would say.


I cried at the news,

Another mentor gone.


He was always here,

with his clever pen

and haunted prose,

a man who knew pain

and love for others.


When friends pass away

it leaves a gulf in our hearts.


The angels who write

on the purest parchment

with inks of gold

are writing your name

in the stars.


May God bless

and keep you.




Winter 2010


The cold winds and blowing snow finally came with the forecast warning more of the same. I curled my fingers tight in thick fleece mittens, hoping to avoid little pinkies being frostbitten. I crave the searing heat of an open flame. "This winter is lasting forever," is my claim. I shiver, so cold I think I forgot my name. I am gale tossed, like an abandoned kitten. Blowing snow finally came. I should be warm, I have meat on my frame, so maybe this barren, frigid place is to blame. I rock and sway, teeth chattering, wind smitten. The book on Global Warming must be rewritten. "Sissy! The garage is heated!" my wife proclaims. Blowing snow finally came.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page