top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

The Cardinal Poems


Grandma Knitted Love


My grandma made mittens

and sewed flannel underwear,

soft as new baby kittens.

Upon our heads, often bare

she placed hats with pom pom

hand crafted with great care.

In a time not so far gone,

these gifts were made of gold,

powerful as muscle and brawn.

Colorful checkers and bold

kept us protected from cold.

In A Quiet House

In the silent morning

with no television,

the only light comes from

ice fog-bound

sodium arcs

penetrating the crack

between thick curtains.

I sit with coffee and dreams

remembering the past

and contemplating

the future

that begins

with one more sip

and solemn vows.

Here in the quiet

of a sleeping house

where even puppies

still lie abed,

I muse on the perfection

of morning,

life, and love.

Smiles,

like fleeting moments,

come and go

upon soft breaths

as I think of my love

and how a gentle word

makes a beautiful day.

"Baby, wake up."

"Do you need a ride

to work?"

"I want to tell you something."

"I love you."

"Have a great day."

Warm hugs in a quiet house.

Kathy Sutton

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

When I seemed to have no friends,

you were there to make amends

and assure I wasn't left all alone.

I think of you now that I am grown.

If there are truly angels who see,

I am thankful you were there for me.

Kathy, I can never hope to repay

the caring you continue to display.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

Books to read and paper and pens,

small treat and other odds and ends

are things I remember you did bring.

Mostly seeing you smile made me a king.

I looked forward to your frequent call,

praying your schedule would stall,

giving more moments of your golden light

which to me always shined so bright.

Kathy, you truly are a savior to me.

I thank God for you on bended knee.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

Some would say it was your job,

dismiss my musing with a head bob,

but they didn't see your warm heart,

wisdom and life lessons you did impart.

I am a better man for things you gave.

Over years, these warm memories I save;

a collection of books of outsiders murmurs

and a hopeful thought whatever occurs.

Kathy, I know God must smile upon you,

and clap His hands at the good you still do.

I remember when as a child I cried,

and you were sure my tears dried.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page