top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

The Quicksilver Poems

My Lighthouse In Troubled Times

Lord, you are my bright beacon,

everlasting light in times of trouble,

the solid support when I stumble.

You are strength when I weaken,

my eternal guide when I wander,

steadfast though evil may occur.

In darkness, you are a lighted glen.

When the world leaves me in fear,

I am comforted when you draw near.

Lord, I shall not fear beast nor men.

When I am protected by your sword,

my strength and courage is restored

Lord, you never dim, my beacon.

You guide me from harm's way,

in your light I long to forever stay.

“I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.”

-John 12:46 (KJV)

2008; Years Later

You have your holidays

I have my Holy Days.

Somehow the meanings

got scrambled as they often do.

The spirit of so many things

we celebrate seem to

have been lost over the years.

You raise your flag

for Independence Day

and demand we stand

as a country.

"Don't take my rights away!"

But what do you do

when the Lord calls to you

on Easter and Christmas Day.

Do you kneel and pray

or slowly turn away?

By all means enjoy

with family friends, loved ones,

but remember the reason

for the season

and center your celebration

around the Man of the cross.

You have your holidays

I have my Holy Days.

“And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.”

-Luke 22:19 (KJV)

Words We Said Today

Once the words

spew forth like

the venom of 1000 asps

they can never be unsaid.

The words we said today

hang frozen in the air

tonight as I shiver

at the violence and suddenness

of a final ending.

Like the rudder of a ship,

pushing feelings

this way and that,

we are controlled by the tongue's slip.

How much better it is

to praise

and comfort

than to hate and demean.

Once the words

spew forth like

the venom of 1000 asps

they can never be unsaid.

“Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!”

-James 3:4-5 (KJV)

Woe is the Artist

Woe is the artist who paints me

as the face hiding behind these eyes.

Brush strokes and a palette knife mix

a bit of crimson and a dab of goldenrod.

I am my own thousand words.

Woe is the artist who paints me,

into a stylized version of life

left to be stared at behind glass.

I guess the colors run sometimes

and a shaky hand makes shaky lines.

Woe is the artist who paints me

not as I am but as He wants me to be.

I realize The Master's hands made me,

and he paints only perfection,

so never more shall I boldly say,

"Woe is The Artist who paints me."

“So God created man in His own image, in the image of God created He him; male and female created He them.”

-Genesis 1:27 (KJV)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page