top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

The Random Poems To Share

If I Were A Surprise


If I were a surprise, I would be the one that brought the tears to Emily's eyes. Her mom hustled her into the car with nary a please. No time to dawdle, we have to go now. I had driven 1800 miles in two days instead of three to pick up my daughter for summer vacation. The shock was complete and watching it register on Emily's face was something to behold. She first looked, then started smiling wider and wider as the tears started and her chatter stopped. "Daddy you tricked me, you weren't supposed to be here until tomorrow or something," came through my little girl's happy cries. Come to think of it, I was that surprise.


----------------


Orange Canopies


Mouse, little mouse is sleeping

in a bed made from an orange rind.

Mouse is happier than any king

or millionaire you will find.

Under orange canopies so bright

little mouse is sleeping tonight.


Mouse, little mouse is sleeping.

Little mouse laid down his head

and fell asleep tonight.

Warm, cozy, and well-fed,

under orange canopies so bright,

Shhh! Little mouse is sleeping tonight.


----------------------


Sleepless Nights


Sleepy days follow sleepless nights,

Like an endless metronome’s ticking.

Everything has been done before,

Everything is the same today,

Past and future, it is a mixed bore.


Like an endless metronome’s ticking,

Everything has been done before,

Sundown to sun up, tossed and turned,

Smothered by night’s wait evermore.


No sheeps counted helped me

In my quests for slumber,

Gated and gathered they waited,

Hundreds upon sunny hill’s heights.

That I should have slept upon.

Sleepy days follow sleepless nights.


-----------------

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page