top of page
Search
Writer's picturembsphotog

Think Spring Horse Lovers (Last Year's Story)

ANDOVER — Going into its 35th year, the Ellis River Riders in Andover is still going strong.

The horseback riding organization’s members are committed to enriching lives through horses in a fun family atmosphere. Founding member and past president Kathi Kyes said, “I keep going back to ERR every year for the family fun atmosphere. I was a member back in 1985 when ERR first started and after several years of AQHA and 4-H for the kids, I decided I wanted to bring my daughter to a nice family fun club for shows and fun.”

Deb Cayer, who has been a member of the club since it’s beginning, holding the office of president, vice president, secretary and currently grounds chairperson, said, “The club has been my family since 1985.”

Ellis River Riders show grounds is home for free Gymkhana and Open Shows as well as instructional clinics and trail rides. The grounds consist of the riding ring, practice ring, food booth and pavilion, a 20-stall barn, which is available free of charge on a first come, first serve basis, and four outhouses. Onsite faucets provide water for horses. There are also overnight camping spots for shows and seasonal spots for members. There are miles of well marked trails connecting directly to the grounds with several organized trail rides scheduled this summer. Members are allowed to use the grounds at any time unless there is a show.

Show season starts on May 30, and is free and open to the public. New members are also welcome, and can find information at ellisriverriders.com.

The club offers a variety of activities and a graduated series of divisions for riders of different levels of ability. Sarah Arsenault, a relatively new rider, said, “I have been going to ERR to ride for two seasons now, but I went several times when I was a child growing up in Andover.”

Emma-leigha Sweetser, a teen rider started showing in the lead-line division, with someone walking beside her horse to assure safety. She said, “My favorite thing is competing and beating my personal best times. My horse, Peppy loves being there. When we step into the arena his heart starts racing! It is such an amazing experience!”

Kyes said, “I can see even more fun and educational horse events in the future. I also bring my grandchildren to ERR, so we have three generations riding together.”

Sarah Arsenault echoed the family sentiment of the Ellis River Riders: “I will keep going back, mostly because I have a little girl who is just like me at that age and she loves riding and horses! I enjoy watching her have fun and exercise her passion for riding.”

Cayer added, “The club has been fortunate to be able to constantly change and evolve to offer whatever is necessary to maintain it’s membership. We have strived to keep current on our events and maintain interest in being part of our group.”

The purposes of the club include:

* Increase recognition of the versatility of the horse;

* Promote all horse breeds and other equestrian activities;

* Promote good fellowship and sportsmanship among horse owners and friends;

* Encourage and educate exhibitors, participants, members, sponsors, spectators and management, while acting in the interest of common good for all;

* Affiliate with other organizations in striving for good horsemanship, whose purposes are altogether or in part similar to those of this club.

Kyes added, “My favorite thing about showing and riding at ERR is meeting up with my horse loving friends. Everyone cheers on everyone else and help folks just getting started with horses. Whether you are a 3-year-old child, a 90-year-old beginner, or an experienced horse handler, there is something for everyone. If you don’t ride but love horses you can always find a favorite horse to cheer on.”

Gloria Wilkins, who has been a member for nearly 30 years, said, “The people and the horses keep me going back.”

Sarah Arsenault added, “My favorite thing is, how everyone makes you feel welcome. Everyone helps you if you’re trying to learn something, Everyone at ERR includes you. It’s like a second family.”

Cayer also said, “The Ellis River Riders was a family affair for many years. The food booth, Gloria ‘Momma Cayer’s’ food booth was dedicated to her after she passed in 2015, and my dad, Ducky Cayer, Mom’s ‘go-for’ liked to refer to the pavilion as ‘Ducky’s Pavilion.'”

All regular events such as Open and Gymkhana Shows are free and the public is always welcome.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page