top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

This Old House and Other Poems


This Old House


I will live in this old house

as long as the ghosts let me.

The day I moved in they greeted me,

However calmly, without rattled chains,

In barely noticed passing mirror reflections,

Subtly looking at me as I passed by.

I will live in this old house

as long as the ghosts let me.

One late night in hot August,

Little footfalls, echoes in the dark

Destroyed my slumber.

I will live in this old house

as long as the ghosts let me.

Holographic and barely visible,

On the other side of a veil,

Unliving but not quite gone,

Searching and watching,

Eternal vigilant company.

I will live in this old house

As long as the ghosts let me.


------

Talkeetna River


From the glaciers in the Talkeetna Mountains

The river of plenty follows her cold path

Past the ghosts of long dead tribes

On down to meet the Susitna at Cook Inlet

The river of plenty follows her cold path

Over smoothed rocks and stones

Bubbling and splashing along her way

On down to meet the Susitna at Cook Inlet

Past the ghosts of long dead tribes

Who come no more to the Talkeetna river

The Tanaina don’t follow the salmon

On down to meet the Susitna at Cook Inlet

On down to meet the Susitna at Cook Inlet

We floated in peaceful silence on the water

The stream called the "River of Plenty" flowed

On down to meet the Susitna at Cook Inlet


-----------


Pattern


The evening clouds outside my window

Promise cooling rain later in the evening

But right now from my point of view,

They are not patterned as big fluffy animals

Or fun shaped cars or even cotton candy,

But dirty black-rimmed cotton balls,

Much like some dark-painted makeuped face

Had scrubbed off layers of paint

To reveal the hidden skin beneath

And the pattern God had given them,

Then the thunder rolls.


---------


Dance


I wonder if I shall ever

feel the rhythm again

like I did back when

I could dance forever.

Once my feet were clever,

when the song began,

until the very end

any step to endeavor.

The music always stops

and the band packs up;

off to another show.

The janitor slowly mops

beer from a spilled cup,

but I don’t want to go.


--------


The Ghosts Of The River Valley


The ghosts of the River Valley

Call to me from the old mill stacks

and the dirty streets I once wandered,

now peopled by walking corpses

trying to get their next fix;

Next to death, next to life.

Next to death, next to life;

The ghosts of the River Valley

trying to get their next fix

Call to me from the old mill stacks,

now peopled by walking corpses

and the dirty streets I once wandered.

And the dirty streets I once wandered,

Next to death, next to life,

now peopled by walking corpses;

The ghosts of the River Valley,

Call to me from the old mill stacks,

trying to get their next fix.

Trying to get their next fix;

And the dirty streets I once wandered,

Call to me from the old mill stacks.

Next to death, next to life;

The ghosts of the River Valley,

now peopled by walking corpses.

Now peopled by walking corpses

Trying to get their next fix,

The ghosts of the River Valley

And the dirty streets I once wandered,

Next to death, next to life,

Call to me from the old mill stacks.

Call to me from the old mill stacks,

Now peopled by walking corpses

“Next to death, next to life.”

Trying to get their next fix,

And the dirty streets I once wandered;

The ghosts of the River Valley.

The ghosts of the River Valley

And the dirty streets I once wandered,

Trying to get their next fix.


-------


Grocery Shopping


Gathering items from a list

Red pen written on scrap paper,

Onions, peppers, kale, fruit,

Celery, radishes, spinach,

Eggs and bacon and sausage too.

Rice bag has a hole in it,

You can follow the slippery trail

Slowly through the dairy section,

Headed for the fake milk,

Oleo, and cream cheese.

Picking through cartons;

Purchase by dates months away.

Ice cream I save for last,

Neapolitan or strawberry?

Great! I forgot my coupons!


----------


Changing Places


Chairs, table, and coffee mug

Hanging plants and striped rug

Another taped and packed box

Neckties, dress shirts and black socks.

Green bag full of cooking spices

Iced tea and brown and white rices,

Noodles, saltines and Bisquick too,

Green food coloring leaked and Elmer’s glue.

Pyrex cooking dishes are chipped,

Littles trails of flour follow from a bag, ripped.

Another moving day is here

Changing places with a small tear.

Everything will find a place to call home,

Safe again until I decide to roam.


----------


Old Endings, New Beginnings


Rarely does the book of life

Conclude with “The End.”

It is really just a series

Of unended beginnings,

Like the old, “choose your own adventure”

Series where one could run wild

And rampant and everything ended

With a new tale already laid out.


----------


Snowflakes Falling


One fun fantasy I kept.

Science smashed it

and I quietly wept.

When snow's softly spit,

flakes on my nose lit,

surely, none the same;

a truth, I would submit.

Along a machine came,

duplicates made adept,

another illusion swept!


----------------


Crossword Puzzle


The crossword puzzle I work at

instead of listening to the sermon,

Reluctant to face the facts of my sins,

Of transgressions against man and The Lord.

Sordid is 27 across, (my life).

Salvation 27 down, (if I believe upon Him).

When I choose my own path and way,

Overlooking the everlasting life,

Reasoning that this world can carry me.

Do I really think of my eternity?

Peter was a fisherman and fisher or men,

Uriah was sent by King David to die,

Zechariah was a minor prophet

“Zzzzz,” I fell asleep thinking of 14 down,

Levites took care of The Ark of The Lord,

Even though God has done everything for me.

I am a lazy Christian.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page