top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Three Distinctly Different Christmas Poems

Kelp On The Christmas Tree


An unselfish act of kindness Arrived upon the dock no less. Beaten by a wind bold, Blue lipped with cold. Charles is my name, Cast astray by seized engine again. Drifting in a frozen Atlantic mist, Dreading a terrible Christmas. Easing onto my starboard bow Eight reindeer floated somehow Followed by a pontoon sled. "Fetch this rope," a voice said. Grinning, Santa called, "Rudolph pull away!" Gracefully the red nosed one led the way, "Here we go, next stop Cutler Bay Pass!" Home in time for Christmas! I swear it is all true. I would never lie to you. Junk boats sail to places remote, Just luck keeps them afloat. Kelp on the Christmas tree, Keeps me mindful of the sea, Lights shining bright Let me remember that night. Marooned upon the ocean, My holiday joy looked dim, No hope for rescue did I find, Nothing but waves before and behind. Only hope remained. Of course that slowly drained, Painfully as the cold set in. Perhaps this was the end? Really, Santa did provide rescue, Red suit, white whiskers too. Sure you doubt and scoff, Say I am 'a bit off.' That is fine I say, Thankfully alive on Christmas Day! Under the mistletoe with my wife, Undying devotion for renewed life. We both believe in Santa Way over here in Montana. Yuletide, far from the Atlantic Yup, even water beds make me sick! "Merry Christmas and God bless you all, and to Santa who saved me from sinking in a squall."


—-------------------------------------------------------


Love Two


Sometimes it is just your shy smile,

or seeing those soft and beautiful eyes

that makes my fractured days complete.


I wish to be the rain-swept city street

that at your daintily stepping feet lies.

Being that close would be worthwhile.


There is no turning back time awhile,

or draping my feelings in love's guise,

as I entreat, "without you I am incomplete."


Anticipation is sometimes the better treat,

although fulfillment would be a sweet surprise,

warm thoughts make the wait less of a trial.


I long to hold you tight, it's true.

although I can never tell you.


—-----------------------------------------------------

Lost Souls On A Sinking Ship


Climbing aboard this sunken ship we see beauty slowly fading away slipping from our trembling grip, washed, so much temporal clay. In darkened shadows that glide by, we hear those voiceless lost souls. For comfort and forgiveness they cry. The devil moves in eternal patrols. We who live in the light know not dark. Let us pray for lost sisters and brothers trying to nurture their salvation from sparks as all around them evil hope smothers. As all around them evil, hope smothers, trying to nurture their salvation from sparks, Let us pray for lost sisters and brothers. We who live in the light know not dark. The devil moves in eternal patrols. For comfort and forgiveness they cry. We hear those voiceless lost souls, in darkened shadows that glide by. Washed, so much temporal clay slipping from our trembling grip, We see beauty slowly fading away. Climbing aboard this sunken ship.




Merry Christmas and God bless!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page