top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

Today's Poetry Offerings

-17 And Dropping


-17 degrees and dropping.

It was a frigid morning,

-17 degrees and dropping.

The wind chill warning

added to a polar blast.

It was a frigid morning.

They said it wouldn't last,

but my cold starting car

added to a polar blast.

I wouldn't walk very far,

perpetually abandoned by all

but my cold starting car.

What happened to golden fall;

the beautiful bounty of nature

perpetually abandoned by all.

Ice upon the earth's floor;

-17 degrees and dropping.

The beautiful bounty of nature;

-17 degrees and dropping.


13 Miles To Go


13 more miles to go,

I approach the start slow.

A half marathon unrolls,

we each have our own goal.

I cross a marker, then another

I run for wounded brothers,

those that paid freedom's toll.

We each have our own goal.

Six miles more to run,

not terrible, yet not fun.

Exertion cleans the soul,

we each have our own goal.

There are three miles left,

no longer are my steps deft.

I struggle for breath control.

We each have our own goal.

One more mile to finish,

strength all but diminished.

I see ribbon strung pole to pole.

We each have our own goal.

13 more miles to go,

we each have our own goal.


Abecedarian


"Abecedarian? Is that even a word?"

"Barely noticeable segment of the population?"

"Centenarian plus a decade?"

"Durable people built to last?"

"Ehhhh...I am not sure really."

"Figure it out from the root maybe?"

"Gosh. I don't know what it means!"

"Honestly, where do you come up with this stuff?"

I couldn't guess and no one seemed to know,

Just from seeing the word on the screen.

"Keep trying," was advice I tried to heed.

Lists of obscure words didn't contain

My new bane, "abecedarian."

No one could pin down

Origin, pronunciation or meaning.

Perplexed I searched the internet.

"Quarrelsome Anabaptists from Germany."

"Rudiments of some subject."

"Systematically arranged from A to Z."

Truly I like some guesses better than reality.

Using technology sometimes destroys fun.

Vowing to increase vocabulary, I pressed on.

Wowing people with my intellect would make friends for sure.

Xeroxing others work will make me famous.

Yielding to knowing that I won't know all will humble me.

Zori clad feet crossed, I await the next challenge.


After The Storm


Blue sky breezes arrive,

few clouds survive.

The day slowly warms,

recovering from overnight storms.

Scattered puddles slowly dry,

kissing ground goodbye.

It is good to be alive

when sky's blue revive.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page