top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturembsphotog

What I Wrote For Mom's Graveside Service

Although tears wouldn't allow me to deliver this:


Good morning.


In the last four months, I have had many occasions to think about mom, and 


what she really meant and will continue to mean to me. Though there have been 


many tears in life and in that time, I know that not all tears are of sadness and 


grief, and I would like to share a significant memory and a brief poem. 



Mama Tried!


10 on the 10th


Sometimes when you don’t have much and your world isn’t very big you get an 


amazing gift, but it may not occur to you how big the gift is in the giver’s eyes.


Mom would say, “I thought you would get a kick out of this.”


I unwrapped the package on my 10th birthday. It was a green mock football 


jersey with a white number 10 on it. I don’t remember it having a name on the 


back, and if so, the name probably wouldn’t have meant much to me in those 


days. 


But mom had selected it...who knows where, but she had found something that 


she knew would highlight what could have been just another hot summer day, 


waiting for school to start again...I think I wore it all week!


Happy Heavenly Birthday Mom!


---------------


A Mother’s Love



I imagine mother's first sight


of a baby boy stays with her


when that son goes out of his way


to do something beautiful and right.


A mother's love is made this way.



Under a spring sun


with skies so blue,


you praised the flowers


I brought you.


A mother's love


is made this way.



Dandelions and lilacs,


a lavender and yellow mix


in an antique blued mason jar.


I found it under a bush without a mar,


carefully washed it in the brook out back.


A simple gesture meaning so much.


A mother's love is made this way.



Though many a childhood memory


can cloud,


I distinctly remember you


praising your flower bouquet.


That made me proud.


A mother's love


is made this way.



Remember the title of the great Merle Haggard song. “Mama Tried!”


Mama Tried.


God bless!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page